• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Beats Audio Causes BRICK recovery mode toast

Okay, I am new to the world of android but have a lengthy IT background. Here is story!

Rooted my rise...simple with no problems was working fine. Backed up image like a good boy. Decided to download Beats Audio via google play. Installed successfully and upon re-boot the following things happened.

1. Dropped off Virgin Mobile network, phone dialer will not open nor will messaging or contacts. 3g symbol is gone, but still shows strength bars.
2. Must re-activate phone, after re-activation phone dialer will still not operate.
3. Volume key when pressed will cause reboot or freeze.
4. Every time reboot happens the phone somehow deactivates.

Okay here are the steps I took and no avail.

1. Booted into recovery to attempt restore...error messages indicates "E:Cannot load volume /misc!"

2. So, I found new boot images and replaced the old ones...well same thing happens during recovery mode.

3. Rom Manager....no custom recovery utilities yet.

The phone turns on, acts and looks like a fully functional phone UNTIL you try to use the phone dialer or press the volume key then it dies. Wifi is still operational. I have scoured these forums and have not found a solution. Is there any other way to throw a older rom on so I can at least use this phone? Did I just fry my brand new phone?

Assistance would be greatly appreciated! :D

Okay, I am new to the world of android but have a lengthy IT background. Here is story!

Rooted my rise...simple with no problems was working fine. Backed up image like a good boy. Decided to download Beats Audio via google play. Installed successfully and upon re-boot the following things happened.

1. Dropped off Virgin Mobile network, phone dialer will not open nor will messaging or contacts. 3g symbol is gone, but still shows strength bars.