1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Best setup for Android 2.1 + VNC to PC?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by htc.EVOlution, Jul 8, 2010.

  1. htc.EVOlution

    htc.EVOlution Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    929
    839
    163
    Does anyone know of a good setup for our HTC Evo to be able to control out PC? I would like to be able to run a VNC and connect to it so I can moniter and operate my computer.

    As of right now, I dont know where to start. Any beginning is a good start. I would like to get everything setup within the next 2 weeks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. RedWingsFan

    RedWingsFan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    365
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    365
    108
    68
    Enable Remote Desktop on your PC
    Use one of the many RDP apps in the market.
     
  3. r3dDaWn

    r3dDaWn Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    44
    8
    16
    Dallas
    Remote VNC is what I use and it's a great app!!!
     
  4. Headcase_Fargone

    Headcase_Fargone Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    182
    7
    36
    Logmein Ignition is in open beta and available on the Marketplace. It's free for now but will probably cost a hefty sum when it goes live. (It's $30 for the iPhone version)

    I use that for my Windows PCs and AndroidVNC for Linux.
     
  5. htc.EVOlution

    htc.EVOlution Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    929
    839
    163
    hey, how did you set it up? some info would be greatly appreciated.
     
  6. Colorado_Al

    Colorado_Al Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    114
    75
    53
  7. mmoss2

    mmoss2 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    I like Phone My PC best. Most RDP and VNC apps are setup based on an IP address. Phone My PC has a small server you download on the host computer so that you can always connect, even if the IP for the host changes. I don't honestly care for the usability of any of the apps, though, in comparison to the iApps.....
     
  8. htc.EVOlution

    htc.EVOlution Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    929
    839
    163
    I will keep this in mine. I'm actually needing to use it after 21st.
     
  9. r3dDaWn

    r3dDaWn Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    44
    8
    16
    Dallas
    I have it setup as follows:

    Real VNC on my laptop, make sure encryption is set to Prefer On
    Install app on phone
    Setup your connection with the ip of your machine, if dynamic you can use a free software setup like NOIP, as I do
    turn off clip board, and view mode on phone, don't enter the psw so it prompts you each time you connect to your computer for it
    Connect, enter your psw at the prompt, you can control your pc via your phone, fast, and secure!!
     
    htc.EVOlution likes this.
  10. htc.EVOlution

    htc.EVOlution Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    929
    839
    163
    Thanks, I will try this out... Looks like I need to redirect my dynamic to a static address.. I'll figure something out.
     
  11. r3dDaWn

    r3dDaWn Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    44
    8
    16
    Dallas
    go to no-ip.org, create an account, download the software, it's free, and you can use a domain as your ip address so if the ip changes, won't matter on your end..
     
    htc.EVOlution likes this.
  12. RickJ

    RickJ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    258
    64
    53
    I just got the phonemypc beta, and it really is impressive(too me). Im new to remote desktops for cell phones so I couldnt give any comparison to logmein or or other RDP / VNC apps. What I can say is that over wifi it is lightning fast. With 3g it is pretty laggy but still very functional.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...