1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Black Messaging Froyo app?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Thrawn, Jul 2, 2010.

  1. Thrawn

    Thrawn Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    63
    0
    15
    Is there just an apk I can install of a themed black Messaging app? I don't want a whole theme, I actually like the stock, but I prefer the Msg app to be black like Fab's NexBeast/Fro since it's what I use most and the bright white gets annoying at night. I suppose I could just install Handcent, but I've had issues with it in the past.
     

    Advertisement

  2. square

    square Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    506
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    506
    24
    63
    i use handcent...you can customize the look. mine is black with white text.
     
  3. Thrawn

    Thrawn Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    63
    0
    15
    Like I said, I may end up just using Handcent again, I have in the past, but it's given me a bunch of issues in the past with recognizing my contacts. I would rather just have a themed Msg app if there is one floating around.
     
  4. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    Its been awhile since I really messed with themes and I havent at all with Froyo but I am pretty sure it would not work to theme just 1 app. Text colors and such would be screwed up for either that app or everything else
     
  5. Thrawn

    Thrawn Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    63
    0
    15
    Ah, well that actually makes sense unfortunately. I guess I'll try out Handcent again, I actually haven't used it since I was on 2.1, so maybe Froyo will iron out my problems with it.
     
  6. Rodeojones

    Rodeojones Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    411
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    411
    47
    43
    Bloomer, WI
    I use Handcent and I haven't had any issues with it on a Froyo ROM. Also, it's been updated a few times (maybe 3) in the past few weeks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...