1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Brand new to Sprint and Android - Need advice

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mjkearns, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. mjkearns

    mjkearns Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Just switched over to Sprint which allowed us to upgrade to the unlimited data plan and got a great price on the HTC Heros. I don't even have the phones in hand yet, but from what I believe they ship with Android 1.5. When they arrive, should I upgrade the ROM to 2.1 right off the bat before anything else?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hunter11

    Hunter11 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    28
    3
    16
    Soon to be retired for the State
    Texas
    We have two Hero's due to be delivered today and I was hoping they would come with 2.1 so I did not have to mess with them. Upgrading from two LG Rumors we just want to get use to the Hero before thinking about updating them. Guess we will see after while.
     
  3. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    If Sprint is sending you new phones they will be already updated with 2.1


     
  4. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    If they don't have 2.1 then i'd personally leave it as-is. If they don't have 2.1 and you really wanna upgrade and don't care about rooting it, you can just take it to a Sprint store and have them do the update.
     
  5. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    It should also have the .6 if it comes shipped with 2.1 which I am almost sure it will be, the other 2 they sent me were already fully up to date


     
  6. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    Figures... rooting is the devil and the most important thing is to stop people from doing it lol.
     
  7. wrench

    wrench Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    215
    44
    43
    NC
    I got my Hero about a month ago and it came with 2.1(.6).
     
  8. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,882
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,882
    3,481
    923
    i think.....

    if it dont have 2.1... then update it to 2.1 first thing...
    you dont want to loose all the settings and customization you will do. so update first.

    also.. this lets you test your phone to make sure it handle 2.1 well.... some phones may have hardware issues... and this might help find any that you might have.
     
  9. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,869
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    1,869
    267
    173
    Florida
    Actually, IF it comes with 1.5, I would root it first. Then the OP would have more options. After rooting a 1.5 rom, they could try a 2.1 rom, (from the custom rom collection) and if it wasn't liked, could go back to 1.5, via the Nandroid that is made at the last step of rooting.

    There are several Custom 2.1 roms that are virtually the same as the Stock 2.1 rom to see if their Hero "handles" it well.
     
  10. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,882
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,882
    3,481
    923
    I agree with you...
    I highly suggest getting root...
    but then you have have to do the custom ROM 2.1
    and it will void your warranties... you can but the phone back to stock .. to get warranty.


    but that was not what they asked....
    it did not seem that they wanted root.
     
  11. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    So basically, this thread should have been resolved immediately after DonB's post as everything since then had already been summed up....
     
  12. Hunter11

    Hunter11 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    28
    3
    16
    Soon to be retired for the State
    Texas
    Both of our new Hero's came with 2.1.1 on them. Since neither of use will use these for anything other than calls, texting and the occasional email or web surfing I am trying to figure out all the apps I can turn off to extend battery life. It is quite a difference from the LG Rumors we replaced with the Hero's.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...