1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Bugless Beast 0.7 to 0.8: Worthwhile?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by The_Chief, Mar 17, 2010.

  1. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,105
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,105
    13,026
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    I guess I'm straddling the fence here. I have all my screens nicely populated, my apps nicely organized, and my data nicely stored on my Droid. NOW all of a sudden 0.8 comes out with wi-fi tethering. Nice but not really necessary for me, but still... it's THERE!

    Question is, is it worth my having to do all this work over again just to get 0.8, or should I just wait for 1.0 to come out? Those of you who migrated up from 0.7 feel free to chime in and tell me if I'm really missing out on anything spectacular.
     

    Advertisement

  2. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    I'm still on 0.7 but isn't there an update.zip to 0.8? And I have wifi-tether on 0.7. It's really dependent on your kernel. I use Chevy's 10 slot kernel. And then all you need to do is install the wifi-tether.apk and you're good.
     
  3. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,105
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,105
    13,026
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Which apk did you install? Pre-7 or Pre-8? And did you experience any boot problems with the 10-slot kernel? I understand a lot of people get boot loops with it.
     
  4. dmodert66

    dmodert66 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,551
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    1,551
    221
    163
    Project Manager
    Southern California
    I'm still using 0.6...I don't see a big need to go to .7 or .8. I'm on the Chevy's 10 slot as well...
     
  5. doomedromance

    doomedromance Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    664
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    664
    82
    78
    The Left Coast
    I'm using BB 0.7 I don't see the need to update. If you want the wifi tether app go here. I'm using pre7, I don't see the need to upgrade to pre8
    Running BB.07 with Chevy's 5 slot 1Ghz kernel and wifi tether pre7
    all working in perfect harmony.
     
  6. l3rian

    l3rian Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    42
    2
    16
    There is an update.zip.. no need to worry about anything. I went from .7 to .8 a couple days ago. I was worried at first because I already had his smoked glass theme and pulled a couple widgets that were also themed... Flashed it and everything was the same except for the theme went back to stock.. just had to re-update.zip the smoked glass and all was back to normal.. couldn't be happier. I like the included low voltage 600 kernel. It has been nice on my battery and I dont see much of a difference from when I was overclocking 1.2 but drats .9 is out now.... : )
     
  7. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,170
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    2,170
    516
    213
    Male
    Wireless Sales Manager
    To flash, or not to flash...that is the question. Shakespeare was born 500 years too soon.
     
  8. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,105
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,105
    13,026
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    That did it!

    Now running Chevy 5-slot at 800MHz, wifi tethered with pre-8 on BB0.7!

    :D:D:D:D

    THANK YOU EVERYONE for assuaging my concerns!
     
  9. xmr405o

    xmr405o Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,171
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    4,171
    1,185
    333

    Cool. well I'm on 0.7 but at 1.1 ghz. Why don't you bump up your OC a little bit. ;)
     
  10. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,105
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,105
    13,026
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    I alternate between 800 MHz and 1 GHz, but 800 seems to be a sweet spot for my Droid. Its happy there and I don't see much appreciable difference in speed.
     
  11. cruud

    cruud Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    159
    10
    38
    Can I go from 2.01 to BB.8 through nandroid or is that not a good idea?
     
  12. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,105
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,105
    13,026
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    That would be the only way to do it. You can't go from 2.0.1 to 2.1 through update.zip so nandroid is the only path to take. Make sure you do a nandroid backup before you do it, just in case and be sure to do the wipes twice :)
     
  13. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    I find that OCing past 800MHz with the new ESE53 ROMs is completely unnecessary. There is no appreciable real-world difference. Sure, your benchmarks get better, but who cares?
     
  14. Richie97

    Richie97 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    11
    1
    36
    Web Development
    VA
    v0.9 is out now, and so far it's by far the smoothest one so far, especially with some of the custom scripts he added into it.
     
  15. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,105
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,105
    13,026
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Too new and experimental for me... 1.0 can't be far away, and I'll donate again for that one :)

    EDIT: Is it true that 0.9 removes email and car home? I read the change log. Looks like he is leaving us very little. Why would I want to do THAT???
     
  16. Richie97

    Richie97 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    11
    1
    36
    Web Development
    VA
    No it's all in there, but with options to delete them if you don't want them.
     
  17. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,105
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,105
    13,026
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    That would make sense. I kind of like all my stuff LOL
     

Share This Page

Loading...