• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Apps Can I use Eclipse for Android development

David Devoy

Sep 9, 2016
I have been developing Android Apps using Android Studio for 3 months now and it is "quite slow".

I also have Eclipse on my machine for Java projects and it is much nippier.

I understand at one time you could develop Android Apps using Eclipse and I have set it up to create Android projects, pointed it at the Android SDK and I can boot up the phone emulator from within Eclipse.

Unfortunately it point blank refuses to build an Android app. Is there or a reason for this like Google no longer support Eclipse to do this and are pushing everyone towards Android Studio or am I just doing something incredibly trivial wrong?

Can anybody give me a hint which of the above I should focus on? Many theanks in advance.

When you say AS is slow, what do you find slow? It's the officially supported IDE for Android development. Eclipse is IMO not as good in most respects, and if you're having trouble anyway, I'd be inclined to figure out ways to improve the performance of AS. You can make tweaks like adjusting the heap space used by the JVM. Also, is it your computer generally struggling? How much RAM do you have. Android Studio for me works very well, and the incremental build feature they introduced makes the development turnaround very quick. The whole thing is very smooth and a lot less trouble than Eclipse. Going back to that would be a backward step for me.

Upvote 0
You are more or less confirming my intuition.

Eclipse may be quicker but it is rather awkward to use. My PC is a bit creaky as it was purchased to surf the web not to run development software.

It is an HP machine running Windows 10 (64bit) with:
1.6 GHz Intel Celeron processor.
8Gb of RAM
A 1.8 Tb hard drive, of which less than 100Gb is used.