1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Capturing screenshots without rooting

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DesireMe, May 31, 2010.

  1. DesireMe

    DesireMe Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    777
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    777
    78
    78
    Poker
    Strathaven
    I've been following (How To Capture Screenshots With Your Android Mobile Phone) to take screenshots from the phone.

    The only part i couldn't do was the driver part. I plugged the phone in with USB Debugging on, it found a HTC phone (on XP), so i thought that was enough.

    When i open DDMS.bat (Davlik) it opens, but there's no device, so i'm unable to take the screenshot.

    Any help appreciated. (I'd like to add to the Desktop Theme thread)
     

    Advertisement

  2. DesireMe

    DesireMe Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    777
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    777
    78
    78
    Poker
    Strathaven
    Just checking drivers and there's one called ADB and it's not installed properly. I've removed and tried again, it wont install and can't update.

    And i also can't get it to pop up that: Found New Hardware: "HTC blah blah".
     
  3. DaWeav

    DaWeav Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    343
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    343
    53
    53
    Lemoore, CA
    I have the USB driver from the HTC Sync app loaded and when I turn on USB Debugging on the phone, DDMS shows it and I'm able to take screenshots and watch the log. I sometimes had issues with the Android SDK's USB driver, but since I've loaded the HTC Sync driver everything works every time. And, since I don't use HTC Sync, I just disabled all of it after I installed it, but the HTC Sync driver stays as default. (Windows Vista SP2)
     
    DesireMe likes this.
  4. Goldy

    Goldy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    23
    5
    16
    Looks like you have a Desire, so you need to install HTC Sync from your devices sd card if you haven't already, as I think that's the only place to get the desire driver from atm as its a newer device.
     
    DesireMe likes this.
  5. DesireMe

    DesireMe Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    777
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    777
    78
    78
    Poker
    Strathaven
    Thanks guys!!

    Installed HTC Sync from the Support pages on the HTC Website. Installed that and was able to see it and take the screenshots.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...