1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

[CDMA] HTC Root Method Help

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jdbrumsey, Aug 30, 2011.

1. jdbrumsey

jdbrumsey Lurker

Noob Question.

I'm new to android and this is my first time rooting a phone...I successfully unlocked bootloader and flashed TWRP using flashboot. When i try to boot recovery it just boots the phone like normal. I tried then reflashing recovery with TWRP and same result...then CWM. Still will not boot into recovery. I want to flash SU however i'm not able to get into recovery to do it. What am I missing?

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. wake69

wake69 Android Expert

when you installed recovery from fastboot, did you use adb? did you get any errors?

3. jdbrumsey

jdbrumsey Lurker

I did not use adb... I did not get errors. Should I have used adb?

4. wake69

wake69 Android Expert

how did you flash recovery in fastboot?

5. wake69

wake69 Android Expert

it may be some work, but look at the second sticky.

6. jlear3

jlear3 Member

add cwm-4.0.4-shooter.img (the recovery) to the same folder as adb.exe

open command, cd C:\ your adb file

Mine is C:\root evo

boot your phone to bootloader (vol down + power) vol down to fastboot, power to select

plug in your phone to pc via usb.. phone should now read fastboot usb

in cmd.exe type fastboot device should say something like HT1xxxxxxxxx fastboot

Now type fastboot flash recovery cwm-4.0.1.1-shooter.img into cmd

should say
    "sending 'recovery' (4832 KB)...
    OKAY [ 1.162s]
    writing 'recovery'...
    OKAY [ 10.191s]
    finished. total time: 11.354s"

follow above post, much more detailed than mine :)

7. wake69

wake69 Android Expert

now, if you dont have sdk installed and are installing it for the first time, adb will be in the platform tools folder and fastboot command will be inh the tools folder.