1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Chainfire 3D

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Vanquished, May 25, 2011.

  1. Vanquished

    Vanquished Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,040
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    1,040
    281
    163
    Male
    Student
    USA
    I saw this in the Riptide GP thread and didn't to take it off topic. I was reading what it does here:

    https://market.android.com/details?id=eu.chainfire.cf3d

    How exactly does it allow you to play a game made for one chipset on a different one though (such as Tegra 2 on the Nexus)? The description doesn't say anything about this, but does have a link to XDA which I don't have too much time to go over right now.


    From the Market:
    "!! Android 2.1 and newer, NOT for Honeycomb !!

    Chainfire3D is an intermediary OpenGL driver. What does that mean? It means that Chainfire3D sits between your apps and the graphics drivers, and can intercept and/or change commands between the two. It has some built-in functions, and can be further extended with plugins to provide extra functionality.
    !! Chainfire3D is for 1ghz+ devices only !!
    !! ROOT is required for this program, as well as a writable /system partition. S-OFF is also required on HTC devices !!Features include reducing texture size and quality to reduce memory use and potentially increase game performance, as well as increasing memory use potentially increase performance."
     

    Advertisement

  2. spottyelephant

    spottyelephant Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    550
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009

    Jul 31, 2009
    550
    17
    63
    My guess is it works something along the lines of:

    Normal Tegra games on a Tegra device:
    Tegra Game: "Here's a wall" -> Tegra chip: "Thanks, i'll draw it like you want, Hey android OS, put this wall on your screen" -> Android OS: "Cheers, I'll draw that nice wall now".

    Tegra games on non-Tegra device:
    Tegra Game: "%^&*
     
    xefe likes this.
  3. ogrenator

    ogrenator Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    294
    48
    43
    anything Chainfire does is FLIPPIN GOLD....I would be willing to bet this works wonders...he single handedly changed what it meant to play games on windows mobile before android was even a spec in googles eye...i will definitely be trying this

    I saw this when he first started developing it and completely forgot about it
     
  4. Shocky

    Shocky On Probation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,872
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    2,872
    319
    163
    It's not compatiible with all games, it's very much trial and error.

    Not many actually work and most that do don't run perfectly.

    But it's a great start, hopefully with further development it will work with allot more games. :)
     
  5. shaolin95

    shaolin95 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    229
    19
    38
    Well, first it works with some games and does not with others but damn it rocks!

    It seems to just "translate" the texture format from Tegra or other to the format that your phone supports by using the plug ins for Nvidia, Qualcomm or PowerVr.
     
  6. ogrenator

    ogrenator Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    294
    48
    43
    so far I tried a handfull of games....tried pinball hd for tegra and that worked great and looks sweet...assassins creed by gameloft ran well before now runs at probably 45-60 fps same with shadow guardian and dungeon hunter 2...it seems the best way to play with this is getting the pro and playing with each specific app instead of doing universal settings..different results with different games...
     
  7. Vanquished

    Vanquished Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,040
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    1,040
    281
    163
    Male
    Student
    USA
    Cool, I'll definately check this out then.
     
  8. Therev29

    Therev29 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    96
    14
    38
    Industrial Safety
    Utica
    reducing the texture also helps some n64 games run faster :)
     
    shaolin95 likes this.
  9. Psyclone

    Psyclone Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    48
    6
    16
    It allows Samurai 2 to run flawlessly on my Epic. Great app! Will be upgrading to the Pro version for sure.
     
  10. daveloft

    daveloft Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    388
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    388
    62
    53
    Toronto, Canada
    I have used Samurai II: Vengeance, Pinball THD, Fruit Ninja THD and they all work perfectly. Riptide GP and Hardwood Solitaire IV work but have framerate issues.
     
  11. Shocky

    Shocky On Probation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,872
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    2,872
    319
    163
    Yep it does help performance but it looks horrible.
     
  12. VeEuzUKY

    VeEuzUKY Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Since I never play games (but

    When I first used the Chainfire 3D drivers was with my HTC HD2 with Windows Mobile! I was a miracle to make SenseUI work better... but I never play games. Under Android (since I still never play games, but I also dont have WinMo or SenseUI) is there actually any advantage to use this driver??
     
  13. Therev29

    Therev29 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    96
    14
    38
    Industrial Safety
    Utica
    lol, yes it does, but at least i can play goldeneye now :) who needs the menu anyways
     
  14. shaolin95

    shaolin95 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    229
    19
    38
    it looks bad indeed but one thing I liked about is that I did not notice any better performance so I am maxed out until a better version comes out I guess.
     

Share This Page

Loading...