1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Copilot work on the LG Otimus V?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cholla22, Apr 15, 2011.

  1. cholla22

    cholla22 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Does Copilot Live work well on the LG Optimus V? The user comments are rather negative and they don't list the LG Optimus V as a compatible phone.

    Has anyone recently downloaded this app and successfully have it running?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. lou61166

    lou61166 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    537
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    537
    56
    98
    Male
    PC Tech Owner Affordable computer repair.
    New Jersey
    I will stick with Google Maps Navigation,i have tried several gps guidance apps and non of them come close.
     
  3. cholla22

    cholla22 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Thanks, but unable to use Google Maps - won't be connected to download maps while driving. Need maps available on the phone. Tried OruxMaps - works, but Copilot looks like it would be easier to use.
     
  4. AQAA

    AQAA Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    68
    10
    18
    I have it installed and it works great, no data needed, no cell activation needed.
    Maps free updates, visual interface beats Google by a mile.
    One of the best navigation programs around imo.
    Why people are negative on it, I have no idea.
     
  5. cholla22

    cholla22 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Do you have the very latest update? It appears that is what is causing the negativity:


    Big waste of money.


    by Family– April 16, 2011
    I did not listen to the reviews and now I'm stuck with a piece of junk software that does not work. Basically just says welcome to copilot and closes the application. I think it is a big licensing issue. They are trying to lock the software down so much even if you buy it you can use it. Just take my word for it do not buy this software.

    Paid the money, after updated, never work again.

    by Richard– April 15, 2011

    Worked good till last update now just force closes

    by Bryan– April 15, 2011
     
  6. AQAA

    AQAA Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    68
    10
    18
     
  7. larrycl

    larrycl Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010

    Nov 16, 2010
    75
    17
    18
    I had some problems with the most recent update. Had to uninstall plus delete the copilot directory from my SD card, then reinstall, re-enter license, etc.

    I find in general, once I have copilot working, it works ok, but pretty much every time they come out with an update, I have some sort of licensing or install problem. It's a real pain in the a**.

    Plus, their support stinks. I'll open a ticket and won't get a response for 48+ hours, then when I do finally get a response, it's cut and paste garbage.

    I only paid $3.99 for the software so it's hard to complain, but would I recommend it? No, not really.
     
  8. er86

    er86 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I have a license for CoPilot that worked around last Xmas okay (returned handset so I do not have an Android one as of today). But I have to say I was happy with the support via email and got a response the next day (to be fair they were asleep when I posted the email). Just today I sent an inquiry as I was thinking of getting a USB receiver to pair with an inexpensive tablet and got a response the same day. May have been a cut/paste response, but it was accurate in terms of my question since I could not find a document letting me know if I had a chance of a USB receive working with their app. I was VERY impressed that I could place my maps on the SD card and omit any data plan.
     
  9. LoneSnark

    LoneSnark Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    72
    4
    16
    I suspect I don't have the latest update. However, it works perfectly for me. Not as user friendly as Google Navigation with a working 3G connection but without 3G there is no contest, CoPilot is spectacular.
     
  10. Leslie Ann

    Leslie Ann Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,427
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    1,427
    893
    213
    I.T. Consultant
    Personally, I like Telenav.
    Pretty similar to Google but with turn by turn audio alerts.
     
  11. lou61166

    lou61166 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    537
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    537
    56
    98
    Male
    PC Tech Owner Affordable computer repair.
    New Jersey
    How did you get this it says unavailable from your carrier on my pc,and will not even display with a market search from my phone
     
  12. lizm

    lizm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    329
    51
    53
    I'm trying it later tonight or tomorrow. I have the map data because i pointed out to tech support that I can't try the program in 15 minutes (the refund window for the market) if I have to DL the 1.5 gig of maps. So he gave me a link for those and now I am going to DL the app from the market and try it out.

    Anyone know the folder name to put the maps in on my sdcard? I unzipped and have two directories, "copilot" and "2577".
     
  13. AQAA

    AQAA Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    68
    10
    18
    In Copilot directory I have a sub directory NA (North America).
    In that directory are the individual States, the maps are in sub directories called data for each State.
     
  14. lizm

    lizm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    329
    51
    53
    Well so far I can't get past the login to CoPilot live screen. The "OK" button is greyed out no matter what i put in there.

    Back and forth with tech support via email since yesterday, have uninstalled and reinstalled 3x already
    :(

    EDIT - I was trying to register it while it was installed on the SD card. This last time I dl'ed it, I left it on internal memory while registering, then moved it to SD to get the maps. It's downloading, we'll see....
     
  15. AQAA

    AQAA Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    68
    10
    18
    Just had an update to my Copilot, now version 8.2.0.590.
    Totally seamless update, works great!
     
  16. lizm

    lizm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    329
    51
    53
    That's the version I've got.

    It has installed - that was the hardest part - and is working. Getting used to the different menu commands and interface after ages of using google Nav will take some time, but it is working without a network, and that's what I wanted it for.
     
  17. AQAA

    AQAA Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    68
    10
    18
    It takes a bit getting used to the menu, but the program works great.
    Make sure you hit the blue menu bar on the bottom on the main screen, there are a bunch of options associated with that.
     
  18. Leslie Ann

    Leslie Ann Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,427
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    1,427
    893
    213
    I.T. Consultant
    Someone posted it in a thread either here or Android Central (I think).

    Before anyone says anything, no, it's not pirated, there is a free and a pay version. The free version is pretty darn nice.
     
  19. chiPersei

    chiPersei Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    17
    2
    16
    The few articles/reviews I've read in the last 15 minutes don't indicate Telenav can be used without a data connection which makes it not an appropriate recommendation in a thread where the poster is looking for GPS without a connection. Am I missing something?
     
  20. lizm

    lizm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    329
    51
    53
    I found those. Even changes to Aussie voice via the menu :)

    I am liking it. I think I'll continue to use Google when I'm in signal, but this is great for when I'm not.
     
  21. getchevyn

    getchevyn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    21
    5
    16
    I have it and it works. The only thing I don't like is it takes about 10mb of internal space even if you move the program to the sd card.
     
  22. lizm

    lizm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    329
    51
    53
    True. I wish the data could move to the sdcard too. But i wish that about a lot of apps.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...