• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Create Ringtone for a Contact

Fulltime Traveler

Dec 27, 2009
Oregon coast
I'm new to the Bionic. On my Droid Eris, I could use the included Voice Recorder app to record something, then go to specific contact and select what I had recorded as the ringtone for that contact.

Is there a way to do that with the Bionic, preferably without downloading an app? There seems to be no Voice Recorder app bundled with it, and the two I downloaded don't seem to save anything in a format that the Bionic recognizes as a candidate for ringtonitude.

One hurdle is that when I try to change the ringtone on a contact the only choices I get are "Android System" and "Zedge ringtones".

Thanks.

Corrected Response

Create ... use an application on your PC to create the voice recording and transfer it to your Bionic. The article at ... Add MP3 Ringtones to the Bionic ... describes the process.

Set ... open the Dialer
Select Contacts
Select the Contact of interest
Go to Settings | Options | Ringtone
(Settings is the left-most button at the bottom of the screen)
Select the ringtone to associate with that contact

The free version of Voice Recorder (from the Market) (referenced in the initial response) does not save the recording as an .mp3 (the paid version of Voice Recorder apparently does).

... Thom

Reactions: doogald
Upvote 0
Thom:

Under "All Apps", I have nothing between "Voice Command" and "Voice Search".

I tried downloading an app named "Voice Recorder" from the market, but it didn't help. It stores it's recordings in a folder named com.tokasiki.android.voicerecorder. They have a .3gp extension. They didn't show up when I try to change a ringtone for a contact. I still have only "Android System" and "Zedge ringtones" options when I change a contact's ringtone.