1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Custom MTDs and ICS

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JDY, Dec 20, 2011.

  1. JDY

    JDY Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011

    Oct 25, 2011
    160
    20
    38
    England
    I've been using SUroots dGB ROM for a while now and love all the space. What I want to know is would it be possible to do the same thing with ICS? What I hope to do (in the future) is reduce the size of the ICS.zip for the desire (I know its still in a beta stage but this is for future reference) and then set the MTD partitions to the size of the ICS.zip file.

    What I'm hoping is that I can use ICS on my desire but still have a reasonably amount of space. What I would like to know is what apps i could remove from ICS that aren't vital for the system and would this process be as simple as following MTD guide and set the system size to whatever the ICS.zip was?

    Thanks for any advice.
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    They have fit it in cm7 hboot so far. So that's a place to start. Not overly familiar with the system apps on there but its not just apps that can be removed
     
  3. JDY

    JDY Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011

    Oct 25, 2011
    160
    20
    38
    England
    Ah right ok. So with CM7 HBoot i would have 287MB of data storage and could i also use app2sd/sd-ext? And what else could I remove?

    Cheers
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    TTS languages take up a good 5-6MB. Audio files, look at dGB in the whats removed section. You can remove quite a lot.

    Eventually I will probably release an ICSd. Although GB is just too solid right now.
     
  5. JDY

    JDY Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011

    Oct 25, 2011
    160
    20
    38
    England
    Ok cheers for that. So say I managed to reduce to size of the ROM to 100MB then surely I should create a custom MTD partition of just over 100MB for system rather than use the CM7 Hboot as I would have wasted about 30MB which could have been use for \data instead of system?

    Cheers
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    yes or make a custom Hboot, but testing those can be hairy.

    When we say 100MB, we're talking flashed not zip though.
     
  7. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,844
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,844
    16,269
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Yes, that would work. If you got it below 100 you could use the Oxygen r2 table as an alternative.
     
  8. JDY

    JDY Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011

    Oct 25, 2011
    160
    20
    38
    England
    Ok so would flashed be the same size as unzipped on a computer?

    Cheers
     
  9. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,844
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,844
    16,269
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    More or less.

    I normally test first with a partition I'm sure will fit, then flash a smaller one when I know exactly what size it needs.
     
  10. JDY

    JDY Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011

    Oct 25, 2011
    160
    20
    38
    England
    Ok sounds good :D probably do this in the new year. Thanks very much to both of you.
     
  11. DNick

    DNick Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    369
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010

    Dec 10, 2010
    369
    21
    38
    Is there a CDMA port for the ICS beta?
     
  12. JDY

    JDY Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011

    Oct 25, 2011
    160
    20
    38
    England
    I'm using a GSM desire so haven't looked for a CDMA port, but I havent seen one yet. Might want to go here: freenode Web IRC (qwebirc) (#ics_desire_nexus_dev) and ask these lot.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...