1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root CyanongenMod 7 Theme Problems

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by max63094, Mar 8, 2011.

  1. max63094

    max63094 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    49
    2
    16
    School :(
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Hi, I am having problems with CyanongenMod 7 themes. I am trying to get themes from the market but when i start downloading them they go away. How will i know if i have the T-mobile theme system in the rom.

    PS: i am new to rooting
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Theyre just apks. Does it say they themes are installed in the market?

    Then you just open theme chooser and apply your theme.
     
  3. max63094

    max63094 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    49
    2
    16
    School :(
    Edmonton, Alberta
    the themes will not download from the market, i will start it, then it would be gone and it is not in the theme options
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    clear your market cache
     
  5. max63094

    max63094 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    49
    2
    16
    School :(
    Edmonton, Alberta
    i had to download the app from the web. I tried clearning the cache and it did not work. I have now learned it is not just the theme apps that i am having this problem with. Now i am having problems downloading the two angrey birds games.It does the same thing, it says starting download then it disappear. I have tried clearing the cach and it is not working, and i tried installing from the android market websites and the same thing happens. So any ideas?????????? Also i have reinstalled the rom
     
  6. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #137
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,272
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,272
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    try clearing data aswell
     
  7. max63094

    max63094 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    49
    2
    16
    School :(
    Edmonton, Alberta
    will not let me clear data
     
  8. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #137
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,272
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,272
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    have you changed your email recently from goolglemail to gmail?, i know this causes problems sometimes
     
  9. max63094

    max63094 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    49
    2
    16
    School :(
    Edmonton, Alberta
    nope always has been gmail, i have never had googlemail. Also i can download other apps but some apps i can not install. One of them is the two angrey birds games
     
  10. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,485
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,485
    14,600
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    How much free space is there in your /cache partition? If that is less than the size of the app the market download will fail, and themes may be larger than most apps (theme apks on my card range from 1MB to 7MB). "Quick System Info" is good for checking this easily.
     
  11. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #117
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,647
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,647
    304
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    There's an "Android secure" file on your SD card you could try deletin too.
     
  12. max63094

    max63094 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    49
    2
    16
    School :(
    Edmonton, Alberta
    ok the secure file delete did not work and i have 4.43MB in system cache, so how would i clear some cache
     
  13. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #117
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,647
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,647
    304
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    I think your just very low on space, the reason angry birds wont install is because their huge files. Are you runnin a2sd? Did you flash dtapps when you installed?

    Have you moved the Dalvik cache? Cyanogen uses Darktremor, and moving the Dalvik can give you 50Mb or so. Open a terminal emulator and type;

    su

    press enter and type

    a2sd cachesd

    enter.
     
  14. max63094

    max63094 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    49
    2
    16
    School :(
    Edmonton, Alberta
    well that did not work, this was my first time rooting. I have my RUU on my computer so i am going to run that and unroot my device. I will root it again, i just need to know the right way to do it.
     
  15. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,485
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,485
    14,600
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Sorry, was nighttime here. Hope you haven't RUUed yet.

    You can clear cache from recovery - boot while pressing the volume down button, select recovery, there's an option to wipe cache partition.
     
  16. max63094

    max63094 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    49
    2
    16
    School :(
    Edmonton, Alberta
    ok i did not RUU yet so. I wiped the cache and still can not download angry birds
     
  17. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Wait, how BIG is your cache partition? Are you on the CM7 hboot? You said 4MB. Is that used? or free?
     
  18. max63094

    max63094 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    49
    2
    16
    School :(
    Edmonton, Alberta
    how will i be able to find out that info on how big it is. I am sorry about all the questions but i am new to rooting. and when i said 4MB that was free
     
  19. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,485
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,485
    14,600
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    The app Quick System Info will tell you cache size as well as free space.
     
  20. max63094

    max63094 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    49
    2
    16
    School :(
    Edmonton, Alberta
    ok my total system cache is 40MB and i only have 4.15MB left. I have cleared it, still it is staying at that, should i reflash or what should i do
     
  21. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Yes. And if you have the standard size cache partition, boot into recovery, go into mounts and storage and format cache.

    Edit... yes you have standard size so do above
     
  22. max63094

    max63094 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    49
    2
    16
    School :(
    Edmonton, Alberta
    K it is not working still. Should i reflash or what should i do now
     
  23. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,485
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,485
    14,600
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Sorry, have to go in a sec so apologies for posting in passing, but maybe answer will help someone else advise.

    You said your previous attempt at clearing cache did not work. Did the latest? How much free space do you have in your system cache now?
     
  24. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    You did the format cache via mounts and storage menu in clockwork? As Hadron asks, whats the free cache now?
     
  25. max63094

    max63094 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    49
    2
    16
    School :(
    Edmonton, Alberta
    yes after formate of cache i have 4.43MB out of 40MB. I am going to try and reflash
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...