1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Data drops, requires reboot

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by LeoBloom, Apr 28, 2011.

  1. LeoBloom

    LeoBloom Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010

    Dec 21, 2010
    32
    8
    16
    I don't understand how this happens or how to properly phrase it because I can't seem to find much on this problem. Occasionally, but often enough to be annoying, the phone can't seem to achieve a data connection. I will have full bars on the phone but the 3G or 1X icon that is normally there on my Droid is not present, and I cannot do anything data related. Attempting to connect to the market in this state instantly gives me this: "a network error has occurred. retry, or cancel and return to the previous screen." Attempting to launch my browser I cannot load any page. I can switch over to wifi, but switching back does not remedy the problem. Only rebooting brings the data connection back. I was wondering if more of you were experiencing this, if any of you know a shortcut to fix it because rebooting takes too damn long.

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Guamguy

    Guamguy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    875
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    875
    209
    93
    I've seen this happen back when I had Android 1.6 and my HTC Magic. I can't do anything but reboot it. I've seen this happen also on the Xperia X10, which was shipped with Android 1.6.

    I've seen it happen a couple of times with my Nexus S when it was new. Since then it has gone away.

    I've owned other Android phones and most of them never went through this at all.
     
  3. LeoBloom

    LeoBloom Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010

    Dec 21, 2010
    32
    8
    16
    I use a Droid PRO, with froyo, and this happens fairly often even with the latest software released a week ago.

    Anyone else experience this?
     
  4. NetApex

    NetApex Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    7
    4
    6
    My girlfriends phone (MyTouch4G) just went through the same thing. Ended up having to reset the phone totally to get connection back. Then my sister-in-law's phone (Epic 4G) did it today. Rebooted a couple times and just let it sit and finally it came back to normal as well. Not quite sure what is causing the issue.
     
  5. landovr

    landovr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    723
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    723
    75
    78
    Firefighter
    Alberta Canada
    I don't use my mobile network very often but it seems like the longer I go without using it the more often this happens. When I turn on my mobile network it just says turning on but it never does. Restarting is the only solution.
     
  6. chinkster

    chinkster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    316
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    316
    11
    38
    SF
    yep i have this problem as well. google needs to get all these crap ass kinks worked out before releasing updates!
     

Share This Page

Loading...