1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Desire XT9 disable?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by CaptainFishy, Apr 11, 2010.

  1. CaptainFishy

    CaptainFishy Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Essex, UK
    Hi everyone, have had my desire for a couple of weeks now and loving it, just one point thats frustrating the hell out of me is why when sending a txt message using the "phone" style keypad you can't disable the XT9 setting, ive turned it off in settings etc and it will still default back to XT9 when you navigate away to add a smiley etc, had a good search on here and on the net for a solution and no luck!

    Maybe i'm missing something obvious! but i detest predictive texting - prefer to type my own letters lol

    Any help or maybe an app that will sort this?

    Thanks in advance

    CaptainFishy
     

    Advertisement

  2. hshah

    hshah Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I am having the exact opposite problem... mine defaults to ABC and I cannot seem to make the default XT9 :(
     
  3. gie62001

    gie62001 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    269
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009

    Aug 2, 2009
    269
    25
    43
    UK
    i think this should be in the settings of the keyboard. but me too i wish i could dissable or enable XT9 by holding some kind of button so i can input my own words without prediction
     
  4. staz1000

    staz1000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    229
    16
    38
    I have had a look at I can't find a way. My defaults to XT9 when writing a text message or email but to ABC when doing a search. Don't know why but it's the way I prefer it. Weird though if you can't have a choice!
     
  5. htcforme

    htcforme Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    46
    3
    16
    Australia
    Did any of you guys happen to resolve this problem? I'm having the same with mine and cant figure it out.
     
  6. staz1000

    staz1000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    229
    16
    38
    No, there have been a few threads about it so far but no solutions.
     
  7. myname

    myname Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    45
    0
    15
    Is there a solution to make it XT9 when it's NOT XT9 in some apps (e.g. entering into textfields in browser)? :(
     
  8. htcforme

    htcforme Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    46
    3
    16
    Australia
    Spew, XT9 is crap. Thanks guys.
     
  9. staz1000

    staz1000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    229
    16
    38
    Why don't you like XT9?
     
  10. S.A.E.I.D

    S.A.E.I.D Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    i disable it :D
    setting--touch inpuut setting--english input setting--disable prediction
    have good time
     
  11. htcforme

    htcforme Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    46
    3
    16
    Australia
    I dont like it because I find it longer to text with. Maybe I just need to get used to it, but at this stage its just not for me. I've just installed sywpe, its cool, awkward but with time I think it will be pretty slick.
     
  12. htcforme

    htcforme Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    46
    3
    16
    Australia
    I had tried this but is still reverts to stinkin XT9.
     
  13. mgamulin

    mgamulin Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I-ve had XT9 disabled before the update, after update checkbox for prediction was not checked but XT9 was active. I've checked it, than unchecked it and now after XT9 is inactive.
     
  14. linuxophile

    linuxophile Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    5
    1
    6
    Because I already know how to spell and I don't like XT9 incorrectly changing what I type.
     
  15. linuxophile

    linuxophile Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    5
    1
    6
    I'm amazed that, with all this chatter, no one in this thread has answered the CORRECT way access the XT9 toggle settings.

    In Froyo (as implemented on the HTC Incredible), the correct way to find the prediction settings are:

    Settings -> Language & Keyboard -> Touch Input -> Text Input

    From there you can toggle all the predictions, word completion, and spell correction for each keyboard as you see fit.

    Enjoy!
     
  16. Dona225

    Dona225 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014

    Dec 19, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    Female
    Once you change things in settings, start to use your keyboard and when the keyboard icon appears on the bottom of your screen, touch it and you can choose the kind of keyboard you want to use.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...