1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Does Galaxy S3 support 5GHz Wifi?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rattlingroger, Sep 19, 2013.

  1. freakshow85

    freakshow85 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013

    Nov 17, 2013
    298
    66
    63
    To connect to a 5ghz network on your S3, you would do it like any other network. Network Signal Info is a good app with awesome widgets that tells you what frequency you are connected on and what channel. If you want to also see if you are on 20 or 40 mhz width, OpenSignal is the only app I've used that is accurate for width.
     

    Advertisement

    svim likes this.
  2. jmatherly411

    jmatherly411 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    302
    113
    78
    Male
    The Lawn Star (Owner/Operator)
    Virginia
    Not true, SignalCheck Pro will tell you whether your on 20MHz or the larger 40MHz bandwidth as well the frequency.
    Not to mention it identifies different LTE bands, especially if you have Sprint.

    Screenshot_2015-03-18-10-42-51.png
     
  3. freakshow85

    freakshow85 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013

    Nov 17, 2013
    298
    66
    63
    SignalCheck (free) is inaccurate on my Galaxy S3 S960L when telling me if my network is on 20mhz or 40mhz. It always says 20mhz. But either way, it wouldn't "not be true" about my statement if I said it was the only accurate ones I have tried.
     
    #28 freakshow85, Mar 20, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2015
  4. wuyiL

    wuyiL Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014

    Sep 6, 2014
    97
    10
    18
    My SPH-L710 could connect to 5g router but it doesn't support 802.11ac.
     
  5. SweetP2018

    SweetP2018 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018

    Jan 13, 2018
    2
    1
    16
    My phone us running on the 2.4 WiFi and my TV, Roku, Laptop are all on 5. They run at the same time, the 2.4 and the 5 both flashing on my router. My phone Galaxy J3 does not see the choice of the 5g. They do have different names. I don't see it in the list of WiFi, but everything else in the neighborhood shows. How do I get it to see that WiFi connection choice on my Galaxy J3?
     
  6. psionandy

    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,138
    Posts:
    5,862
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    5,862
    8,734
    1,138
    Male
    Gizmonic Institute - mug in a yellow jumpsuit
    liverpool
    possibly by asking your question in a thread for your particular device, rather than posting it at the end of a discussion for a different model, that was last replied to over 2 and a half years ago.......
     
  7. dontpanicbobby

    dontpanicbobby 100% That Guy
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    15,109
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    15,109
    9,486
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
  8. SweetP2018

    SweetP2018 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018

    Jan 13, 2018
    2
    1
    16
    I realized that I asked in the wrong thread after posting. I will try to delete it. I believe that I did post the question to another thread about the model that I have.
     
    psionandy likes this.
  9. dontpanicbobby

    dontpanicbobby 100% That Guy
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    15,109
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    15,109
    9,486
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    Let me clarify...

    I don't think the S3 has the "radio" to truly support 5ghz. You'll connect okay but you won't get all the benefits.
     
  10. srglassw

    srglassw Member
    Rank:
     #560
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    55
    21
    18
    Male
    British Columbia, Canada
    My S3 model SGH-I747M sees and uses 5GHz networks with no issues.
     
    dontpanicbobby likes this.
  11. bomokbul111

    bomokbul111 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 30, 2018

    May 30, 2018
    1
    0
    5
    Update version. Oreo
     
  12. dontpanicbobby

    dontpanicbobby 100% That Guy
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    15,109
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    15,109
    9,486
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    Cool @srglassw your S3 will use that band but it won't be any faster.
     
  13. srglassw

    srglassw Member
    Rank:
     #560
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    55
    21
    18
    Male
    British Columbia, Canada
    It does seem faster on the 5GHz WiFi band and Speedtest app reports 41.1 Mbps download compared to 23.8 Mbps on the 2.4GHz WiFi band.
     

Share This Page

Loading...