• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Email Not Pushing

Nasus

Lurker
Mar 5, 2012
I've had the Rezound for a few months now and have loved it! However, recently my emails have not been pushing. (Yes, I have them set to push) I called Verizon who verified that I have received all recent updates and they suggested reinstalled my email accounts (Hotmail, Gmail, and Yahoo). I did this and they worked fine for an hour or so until I hit "kill all" with my task manager. Could the task manager be my problem? Also, it may be a coincidence but my email issues also started about the same time I started playing Words with Friends (which unfortunately is a new addiction). Any advice would be appreciated.

I've had the Rezound for a few months now and have loved it! However, recently my emails have not been pushing. (Yes, I have them set to push) I called Verizon who verified that I have received all recent updates and they suggested reinstalled my email accounts (Hotmail, Gmail, and Yahoo). I did this and they worked fine for an hour or so until I hit "kill all" with my task manager. Could the task manager be my problem? Also, it may be a coincidence but my email issues also started about the same time I started playing Words with Friends (which unfortunately is a new addiction). Any advice would be appreciated.

Definitely get rid of the task killer. I'll post back in a few with someone else's eloquent explanation of Android memory management and how task killers mess things up if you want. But the short version is Android is designed to run at or near memory capacity for both responsiveness and battery life. Task killers prevent this and actually slow your phone down and reduce battery life.