1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root ESE53 & Swype...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ibanez540r, Mar 24, 2010.

  1. Ibanez540r

    Ibanez540r Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    34
    6
    16
    Anyone else really missing swype after going to ESE53 based ROM? Really loving the rom, but kinda dying without swype. I hate manually typing in letter by letter when using the phone in normal position. Use to be able to fly through text and not have to go horizontal to type. Anyway, any idea when Swype for 2.1 is coming out???
     

    Advertisement

  2. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    There was a swype beta but I think its closed. I signed up for it awhile ago and swype works great on my phone

    edit

    http://beta.swype.com/

    it says temporarily closed so you might wanna keep an eye on it
     
  3. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    I have tried every flavor of ROM out there and Swype has run great with each one. No problems at all with the 2.1 based ROMs.
     
  4. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,307
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,307
    515
    213
    Corporate & Securties Attorney
    Wilmington, DE
    I'm also using Swype with absolutely no problems on ESE53. Read through this FAQ, it will help you. [FAQ] Bugless Beast 2.0.1 & 2.1
     
  5. istolvampire

    istolvampire Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    503
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    503
    35
    68
    there as a procedure found on these forums that told you to set the regular keyboard first and then switch to swype or something to get it to work. I am sure with a little searching you can find it. It was buried in it though. Try the one named swype beta.
     
  6. underd86

    underd86 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    64
    1
    16
    The new beta worked fine for BB ESE53 but with Cyanogen I have to uninstall and reinstall it at every reboot the force stop does not fix it on that rom ....err maybe the final 5.05 now works with the force close ...sry
     
  7. Ibanez540r

    Ibanez540r Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    34
    6
    16
    OMG I love you guys. Originally my swype keyboard would come up but anything I hit it would make the acknowledge noise but do nothing. So I re-installed and it gave a warning that it was not designed for my device and may not function properly and did the same thing. Hence after going a week or two I made this thread. Well, after reading some of your responses saying it DOES work, I deleted and installed again and all working great!!! Awesome... BTW I'm on Adamz 6 rom
     
  8. istolvampire

    istolvampire Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    503
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    503
    35
    68
    Glad to hear it works for you now.
     
  9. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    Well, if we paid attention to warnings none of us would be rooted :D Glad it is up and running.
     

Share This Page

Loading...