• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Extending Battery Life

I rooted to Apex 1.4 a few days ago (Im a noob btw)... Is there some things I can do to help my battery life? I'm down to 50% after 6 hours :eek:! Also Ive seen some ppl say that autokiller wasn't good to run... thoughts? (Tried to find some info on here/google... gets to be a mind boggler)

Thanks for the input!

I switched back to my stock backup and brought it up to date to test my vehicles bluetooth, which wasn't working with my Focused rom.

I charged it before bed, when I got up it was still 100% and dropped to 90% by end of work, even tho I had a 35 minute call while at work. Now I'm at 70% after 34 hours. To be fair, I've only used it for a few calls and normal maintenance (check/delete emails, update apps thru market) since reloading stock. We'll see just how long the battery really lasts. It might be a problem with battery stats.

Upvote 0
Well I'm overclocked at 1.15ghz and I've been using SetCPU since Saturday but the battery life still seems to be running thru quickly. Been on 4-1/2 hrs and I'm down to 80% and I've only sent a couple txts and opened a couple apps, which have been closed afterwards. Checked my battery manager stats.... Display 37%, Phone idle 23%, Cell standby 18%.. those are my top 3. I have my display setting turned almost all the way down, so I dont understand. And the display has only been on about 20 min.

Upvote 0
I use autokiller and I'm on Apex 1.4. I get 36 hours of battery life with a regular battery and 51 hours with an extended battery. My phone is overclocked but is running at lower than stock voltage. Having profiles setup with SetCPU helps a lot with battery life also.
what settings as far as low voltage frequency are you running on the droid overclock.

Upvote 0
This is what I managed to eek out of stock w/ extended battery:

Unplugged70%20hours.jpg