• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Firmware Update on Rooted Inspire 4G

hyyyyy1

Lurker
Oct 13, 2012
Hey everyone,

About 6 months ago I rooted my inspire 4g using the advanced ace hack kit.

Everything went fine and still is, but now I'd like to update to the latest firmware whilst keeping my root/s-off.

From what I've read it seems either the update will fail or I will lose root, which I really don't want to do as it seems that the advanced ace hack kit has disappeared and I'm not very experienced in rooting phones etc.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

I'd like to stay as close to stock as possible while keeping s-off and root, so I would prefer to stay away from any custom roms that are more customised than that.

I'd really appreciate your help.

if you used the aahk,the result is radio s-off,and superCID,both of wich survive RUUs and OTA updates.

in order to accept an OTA,you need to be running the stock recovery,on the latest relese software,and have not modified it to much(deleting system apps can casue it to fail)

the easiest way to update would be to run the RUU for the most recent update,then re-install your recovery as a PD98IMG file in hboot,then reflash superuser root files in said recovery. this will get you the latest firmware(hboot and radio) as well as the latest software.

the other option would be to simply flash a custom rom based on the latest OTA.

at any rate,i would strongly suggest not to attempt taking an OTA while running any custom recovery-it can potentially jam you up,potentially unrecoverably. :eek:

Reactions: hyyyyy1
Upvote 0
ok,start by updating all your apps,and backing up your user apps with titanium backup or equivalent,and then make a backup of your current setup in recovery.

the latest release from att for the inspire,is gingerbread,sense 3.0,build number 3.20.505.52

-download the RUU from here: Shipped ROMs