1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root franco kernel always has 2 cores "offline"?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cad2blender, Jul 13, 2013.

  1. cad2blender

    cad2blender Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012

    Aug 30, 2012
    28
    3
    36
    I have the latest Franco kernel and noticed that not all my cores are being used. I know that Franco kernel will only uses them all once the load passes a certain threshold. I played a few games thinking it would run all 4 cores and nope, only 2 cores. I played HD video and nope, only 2 cores. Is this normal? Are there certain apps that will make use of all 4 cores? Just so I can test that I'm not always limited to just 2 cores? If it always locks then I'm going back to the stock ROM.

    Nexus 4 running 4.2.2 with r163 kernel
     

    Advertisement

  2. jmar

    jmar Nexican
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,850
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    4,850
    3,131
    523
    Male
    Sales
    San Jose, CA
    FrancoKernel is a great kernel and is tuned to do everything you've described. It will use four cores if the load is heavy. If you have his app, you can lower the threshold the 0 and all fours cores will run all the time. Some people lower it to 50; default is 70. It is set this way to offer maximum performance/battery life.

    And besides, most apps aren't optimized for, or need to be running on, all four cores.

    I don't change anything. I just flash and go.

    Good luck,

    jmar
     
    Fuzzy13, El Presidente and Rxpert83 like this.
  3. costarican

    costarican Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    510
    Joined:
    May 28, 2012

    May 28, 2012
    510
    25
    68
    How do you know how many cores you have running?
     
  4. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Most applications that allow you to modify your cpu speeds will show you the current states.

    Check out
    Kernel tuner, system tuner, quick system info pro, Franco kernel app, ect
     
    costarican likes this.
  5. costarican

    costarican Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    510
    Joined:
    May 28, 2012

    May 28, 2012
    510
    25
    68
    Yeah only running 2 cores
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  6. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    If the phone doesn't need them running, it'll shut them off. That's a good thing :) :thumbup:

    I'd be more worried if all 4 were online while the phone was idling
     
    jmar likes this.
  7. Fuzzy13

    Fuzzy13 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    7,290
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    7,290
    2,503
    413
    Engineer
    A-T-L-A-N-T-A


    Exactly what Jmar has just said. I flash and go as well. I do however tend to stick to Milestone builds instead of nightlies. I havent had that much luck with them and tend to get random reboots. (Which can be attributed to OC'ing.)

    Speaking of which. I have very little luck with OC'ing the N4. Usually at some point it WILL reboot during the day and most of the time it will be multiple times. BUT, out of all the benchmarks I have done with this phone and all the kernels I have tested out, Franco running at STOCK has always produced a 22K on Antutu. That's impressive especially when "other" kernels can't come close to that when they are OC'd to the max.

    Plus you have FULL color control with the Franco. I've personally not tried another ROM that allowed Gamma adjustments. I loathe the "stock" color spectrum and I feel the ONLY way to get the phone to a decent color pallet is with gamma adjustments. It needs to be a little darker with some colors cause they whites can blur together and look fuzzy.

    Anywho, just wanted to chime in and add to what Jmar already said. I HIGHLY suggest buying the app to go along with Franco's kernel. The app is by far amazing and just complements the entire greatness of his kernel. :D
     
    Rxpert83 and jmar like this.
  8. markzombie82

    markzombie82 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    350
    28
    43
    Wow his kernel has his own app. Bad ass!
     
  9. Fuzzy13

    Fuzzy13 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    7,290
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    7,290
    2,503
    413
    Engineer
    A-T-L-A-N-T-A
    A very bad ass app I must say.
     
  10. markzombie82

    markzombie82 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    350
    28
    43
    I downloaded his app $4.99 and it says core 3 and 4 offline? Its a bit odd am I missing something?
     
  11. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    That's what this conversation is about. If the cores aren't needed they are off.

    That's a good thing and completely normal :thumbup:
     
    Fuzzy13 and markzombie82 like this.
  12. markzombie82

    markzombie82 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    350
    28
    43
    OK good.
    Edit this what you were saying :) [​IMG]
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...