1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Froyo and Honeycomb on Nook Color

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cryingfreeman, Feb 15, 2011.

  1. cryingfreeman

    cryingfreeman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009

    Jul 8, 2009
    86
    20
    18
    Hello,

    I have few question about froyo and honeycomb on nook coor:
    How many free memory(RAM) have Nook Color after start with Froyo and how many with Honeycomb?
    How many free RAM have NC with open browser in Honeycomb?
    How many webpages can be opened in Honeycomb browser without refreshed pages?
     

    Advertisement

  2. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,334
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,334
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    ??? Free RAM is dependent on how many apps you have loaded, what apps start on boot, etc. The actual amount of free RAM is largely irrelevant.

    I'm not sure what you're asking about the amount of webpages open either?
     
  3. whs37

    whs37 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    597
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    597
    113
    113
    Male
    retired
    Florida/Germany
    Is that really true. I would think that multitasking can get tedious if the device is RAM starved. Devices with 256MB of RAM like the Archos Tabs run slower than devices with 1GB of RAM.
     
  4. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,334
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,334
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    Well you are right that the device needs to have RAM available to operate. The Archos Gen 8 tablets have 256MB while the NOOKcolor has 512MB so you are always going to have more free RAM on the NC vs. the Archos.

    More RAM is always better when comparing devices...but let's talk about one device at a time.

    Suppose you have 100MB of RAM free on a NOOKcolor. Would the device be faster if you had 200MB free instead?...not necessarily. The RAM that is currently allocated to other processes makes switching between those processes faster. If you kill all processes, your launcher application may seem more fluid but opening apps will take longer as you are not utilizing any of the multi-tasking abilities of the Android OS.
     
  5. bluewhite79

    bluewhite79 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    128
    8
    36

    perfect time to ask if honecomb will use up too many resources (aka RAM) to run effectively on the nook. So, will HC be laggy? My guess is that it won't run that great on the NC. Would love to see gingerbread running, however.
     
  6. euph_22

    euph_22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,634
    595
    213
    Grad Student (Applied/Computational Math)
    Milwaukee, WI
    And you're basing this assumption on what? Android is far more efficient than Windows, and I'd suspect that the Nook has more then enough proc and RAM to run honeycomb just fine thank you. The main advantage to having lots of RAM in android is it allows more data to be stored in RAM, reducing load times for apps. So even if honeycomb uses significantly more RAM (which I'm not agreeing with your assumption at all), it will just take the RAM that would otherwise be used to cache programs. Honestly, you wouldn't even know that happened (an app that might load in 3 seconds will load in 15 seconds, times completely made up).
     
  7. bluewhite79

    bluewhite79 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    128
    8
    36

    i wanted to spark discussion, so i made a guess. Sue me? Don't get all defensive. I would love for HC to work on the NC. i'm just skeptical...thats all.

    Are the devs even working on gingerbread, or do they consider it a waste since HC is the ultimate trohy?
     
  8. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,334
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,334
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    Easy guys...this isn't really debatable as you can try it for yourself...

    The Honeycomb preview that runs off of the SD Card can be found here: Android 3.0 Honeycomb Preview Image v04 - 2/7/2011 - xda-developers

    This is a port from an emulator...it's not even a source built or optimized version of HC for the NOOKcolor. It runs pretty smoothly even @ 800MHz. The NC's 512MB of RAM is plenty to get the job done. While this build of HC is not ready for daily use IMO, it definitely proves that the NC can and will effectively run HC ;)

    I don't see a lot of development for Gingerbread because there is not much to be gained IMO. Sure, a better version of Froyo (really that's all that GB is) would be nice...but HC is where it's at!
     
  9. whs37

    whs37 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    597
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    597
    113
    113
    Male
    retired
    Florida/Germany
    This was an interesting observation by euph22. That would presume that Honeycomb has a similar function like Windows Superfetch for managing RAM. Anything cached in RAM is, of course, instantly accessible and would be extremely beneficial to performance.
     
  10. bluewhite79

    bluewhite79 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    128
    8
    36

    how long do you think it'll take for the brains (over at xda or wherever)to come up with a finalized version? 2 weeks? a month or longer?

    im just excited a little :D:p
     
  11. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,334
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,334
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    Yeah, I'm excited too :)

    I don't know but I read some of the comments by "deeper-blue" and he seems to elude to the fact that some of the issues will not be fixed until Google releases the source code for HC.

    If you haven't tried the preview, I would encourage you to do so. Make a backup of your SD card's contents so you don't lose anything. Then you basically just create a boot disk using your SD card and once you're done playing with HC, you power off...reboot...and you are EXACTLY where you left off. Reformat your SD card, move the files you backed up back to your SD card and you are good to go...back to whatever 2.1 or 2.2 firmware you were running with all of your apps and settings left unchanged.
     
  12. euph_22

    euph_22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,634
    595
    213
    Grad Student (Applied/Computational Math)
    Milwaukee, WI
    Yeah, based on my minute and a half of Googling SuperFetch it looks similar. Glad Microsoft finally figured that out. Free RAM is wasted RAM, might as well use it for something until you need it.

    Oh, and ALL versions of android do that (although 2.2+ does it better than 2.1, which is better that 1.6, and so on). It's a feature inherited from Linux.
     
    whs37 likes this.
  13. cryingfreeman

    cryingfreeman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009

    Jul 8, 2009
    86
    20
    18
    I talk about ram in clear device without additional apps

    to webpages: on android os number of opened pages is limited with RAM. If RAM is low, os can close some openede tab and when you switching to this tabs, pages go reloading
     
  14. bluewhite79

    bluewhite79 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    128
    8
    36
    gotta be any day now, right? xoom is almost here.

    When have they traditionally released it for eclair, froyo, gingerbread etc.?
     
  15. whs37

    whs37 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    597
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    597
    113
    113
    Male
    retired
    Florida/Germany
    Thanks for the confirmation. I am not a Linux guy but a Windows Geek. It was good to hear that things work in a similar fashion.
     
  16. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,334
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,334
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    So your just wanting to know how much RAM the base OS takes up? I don't know that and am not really in a position to wipe my NCs clean, load up a different OS version on each one and find out. Maybe one of the new rooters can take a look at that when they first get and root their device. I'm assuming you would want the webpages loaded on a clean device as well? What kinds of web pages? Loading www.google.com is much different than loading up www.cnn.com

    I guess I just don't understand the point of all of this. If you can have 5 active websites on different browser tabs...on a clean device...what does that mean to you? The NC has 512MB of RAM which has proven to be the above the minimum amount needed to truly multitask. 256MB on any version of Android is where you really see some issues with laggy performance when multiple programs are running at the same time.

    Honestly, I don't remember how long it took Google to drop the source code after launching a device with a new OS version. I'm thinking it has traditionally been within a few weeks of launch. So when the XOOM is released, I'm thinking we will have the source code within a month.
     
  17. whs37

    whs37 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    597
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    597
    113
    113
    Male
    retired
    Florida/Germany
    Isn't there a system program where you can see the RAM usage (like Resource Monitor in Windows7). Just curious. I wonder whether the Linux command line would work - e.g. $ free -t -m . Since I do not have an Android device yet, I cannot check.
     
  18. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,334
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,334
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    Yeah, there are apps that show you those stats.

    For instance my Fascinate was running and I had 68/339 MB of RAM free. I cleared some memory on the device and now I have 151/339 MB free. So you would think that my OS takes up 188MB of RAM with nothing else running...but that's not accurate as I'm not using the stock launcher (and that was closed when I cleared memory), I have background services for apps I've downloaded that never stop, etc. Not to mention that this is only the RAM available for user apps...the rest of the RAM (512MB in total) this phone has is dedicated to the GPU.

    Android manages open applications and closes applications as the system needs additional RAM. How much RAM is currently available this second?...I really don't care.
     
  19. xmr405o

    xmr405o Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,166
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    4,166
    1,185
    333
    I can't wait for the Xoom!!!! I want the Honeycomb port for my pretty little tablets. :D

    Oh and btw to the OP-

    I love Crying Freeman!
     
  20. frankbonatelli

    frankbonatelli Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    203
    30
    43
    Globally employed
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Well Ill drop in here with my NC HC eMMC device experience
    In a word PERFECT.
    I have now been using the eMMC install (to internal storage) for a week and it is a perfectly usable daily driver. XDA devs are always hard at this build and things like bluetooth enabling is already in the works. Battery life is an 8hr steady wifi use or longer as you trurn that off when not needed. I Read both NOOK books and sony Reader books, both apps work smoothly. I all so use Palm Ereader but it as yet will not function on the NC ( I suspect its because of HC and not the nook as I use there app on both my Desire/Droid Pro as well)

    There are a few screen quirks but I can live with it seems the size of the screen isn't displayed correctly and things like the notification pop up is not fully displayed. Still completely usable as a daily pocket tablet.

    It is the perfect size for Forum trolling, Craigslist hunts or what have you. Many an iPad user has made comment as to its complete incognito ability ( I have shoe horned it into a moleskin notebook ) and when Im at starbucks I am seen to be readying a book or diary not surfing the net with sweet tech in hand.

    Awesome Tablet synergy!
     
  21. nathan312

    nathan312 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    394
    25
    63
    Student
    Georgia
    I "wrote" the image of Honeycomb onto my 16gb mSD card and could not for the life of me, get it to work...It would get stuck at the "Android_" thing where that's sideways.

    I knew a class 2 would be very laggy, but I just wanted to try it lol. Is that why it wouldn't even load up? I can run Froyo on my 2gb class 2...so...
     
  22. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,334
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,334
    1,564
    433
    Ohio

    Hmmm... I would try to redownload the file and then burn the image to the sd card again. Class 2 should boot...or so I would think.
     
  23. nathan312

    nathan312 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    394
    25
    63
    Student
    Georgia
    Hmm ok...well I'm assuming it's class 2. It's the SD card that came with my OG Droid. I assumed there wasn't anything lower than 2 lol. My 2gb says class 2 on it but is too small for HC :(
     
  24. cabbie

    cabbie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,333
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    1,333
    553
    213
    It'll boot off any SD card no matter what the speed, the question is performance.

    CacheMate is an app that will tell you how much RAM you have free, or you can just check in settings.

    The gingerbread for NC is cyanogenmod7. It was basically all done except for two big issues: kernel panic when opening the browser because it wanted a geolocation, and sleep-of-death (you'd put it to sleep and couldn't wake it back up). They have solved this more or less but as far as I know they still don't have video playing working. Don't quote me but thats what I read on the CM forums but I've been away from the innertrons the past couple days and don't know whether progress has been made.

    CM7 was very different from stock rooted eclair, nookie froyo, and honeycomb. The kernel by dalingren worked fine on those 3 but would run into the aforementioned issues on CM7.
     
  25. nathan312

    nathan312 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    394
    25
    63
    Student
    Georgia
    Good to know, I think I'll stay away from CM7 right now.

    I finally man-up'd and flashed Nookie Froyo 0.6.8 onto my eMMC last night...first time flashing (or whatever it's called) to the eMMC. I normally run it off an sd card. It was scary but worth it! SO much faster and smoother and I love 2.2 on this thing. I wish it had a dedicated back button beside the original nook "up" arrow that opens the Library and Shop buttons. It's kind of a pain to have to press the "n" button every single time I want to go back. I know I can press the soft-keys button and it will stay up...I just want a PERMANENT back/home/menu button SOMEWHERE on the screen lol!
     

Share This Page

Loading...