1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Galaxy S3 Screenshot Issues

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Hill284, Jun 26, 2012.

  1. Hill284

    Hill284 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012

    Jun 26, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    I cannot stand the method of capturing a screenshot by swiping the side of my hand across the screen. I read you should also be able to do it by holding the home button and the power button at the same time. This method is not working for me....it brings up the task manager every time. I have tried it probably 20 times with no luck. Anyone else have a problem with it?
     

    Advertisement

  2. sherlock5545

    sherlock5545 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,050
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    1,050
    304
    163
    London, UK
    You're doing it wrong. Hold down Home Button > Power Key > Volume Down Key at the same time.
     
  3. matttye

    matttye Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,938
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    1,938
    379
    163
    Senior Legal Secretary
    Lincoln, England
    You don't have to hold volume down.

    --------

    You have to hold home + power for about 2 seconds.
     
    Hill284 likes this.
  4. Hill284

    Hill284 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012

    Jun 26, 2012
    4
    0
    5

    Thank you! I got it to work finally. That is correct you don't have to hold the volume down. I wasn't hitting the buttons at the same time (used to my iphone).
     
  5. jbirdsf

    jbirdsf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010

    Oct 9, 2010
    216
    16
    58
    The 'Sco
    I'm having trouble getting any of the screenshot apps to work with my unrooted S3. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
     
  6. justaneonlol

    justaneonlol Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010

    Oct 9, 2010
    53
    5
    16
    Don't use an app. Take your hand sideways and swipe accross the screen.
     
  7. jbirdsf

    jbirdsf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010

    Oct 9, 2010
    216
    16
    58
    The 'Sco
    I'm sorry but this makes no sense to me. Could you please elaborate?:thinking:
     
  8. teknagen

    teknagen Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    97
    13
    18
    Socal OC
    goto settings>motion> enable palm swipe to capture

    best way i can describe the motion is do a karate chop to the screen then wipe left or right.
     
  9. justaneonlol

    justaneonlol Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010

    Oct 9, 2010
    53
    5
    16
    Take your hand, make it into a karate chop, start on the right side of your screen, slide it to the left. It'll take a screenshot.
     
  10. toptobottom

    toptobottom Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    408
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    408
    279
    98
    Male
    Glen Spey, NY
    Yup, the edge of your hand should be in contact with the S3 display as you swipe across. I made the mistake of doing a air passover and was wondering why it wasn't working. It's a cool feature for sure.
     
  11. jbirdsf

    jbirdsf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010

    Oct 9, 2010
    216
    16
    58
    The 'Sco
    It worked! So awesome! Thanks guys. :)
     
  12. snilloconator

    snilloconator Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    245
    13
    38
  13. Krunk83

    Krunk83 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    519
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011

    Sep 27, 2011
    519
    110
    93
    Male
    Chicago
    You can also just hold down the home button and power button simultaneously for two seconds.
     
  14. F34R

    F34R Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    34
    1
    36
    I like this option much better.
     
  15. JayS3

    JayS3 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012

    Jun 29, 2012
    52
    4
    16
    Entrepreneur
    London UK
    I personally like using the buttons to this. When I do it jackie chan stylei always move the screen or accidentally tap something, Like today for example i wanted to screen shot something on google maps to show a friend but it kept going all over the place taking random shots
     
  16. crossmr

    crossmr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012

    Nov 3, 2012
    104
    3
    36
    Male
    Education
    Seoul, South Korea
  17. Heisenberg123

    Heisenberg123 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    703
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012

    Sep 25, 2012
    703
    74
    78
    Hamilton, ON

    not sure it matters but hold them both at the same time not home than the power button, and it takes about 3 seconds its not instant
     
  18. cgfw201

    cgfw201 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    166
    10
    58
    Why not palm swipe?
     
  19. crossmr

    crossmr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012

    Nov 3, 2012
    104
    3
    36
    Male
    Education
    Seoul, South Korea
    I've been trying that. Tried to push it several times together, but if you hold it too long it ends up powering down your device.

    ah there we go.. i finally managed to get the timing right. It's really sensitive compared to the iphone. It really gives you a lot of ability to hold one button down and then get the other one it doesn't have to be timed to a split second.
     
  20. crossmr

    crossmr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012

    Nov 3, 2012
    104
    3
    36
    Male
    Education
    Seoul, South Korea
    :flute:
     
  21. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #11
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,319
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,319
    23,815
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Three threads merged here:

    - Capture Screenshot Problem
    - Galaxy S3 Screenshot Issues
    - Screenshot not working

    Thanks!
     
    SUroot likes this.
  22. crossmr

    crossmr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012

    Nov 3, 2012
    104
    3
    36
    Male
    Education
    Seoul, South Korea
    after getting the timing right the other day, i simply can't do it again. Just tried a bunch of times and can't get power/home to take a screen shot.
     
  23. Krunk83

    Krunk83 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    519
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011

    Sep 27, 2011
    519
    110
    93
    Male
    Chicago
    Not that hard dude. Just hold the home and power together at the sane time for 2-3 seconds.
     
  24. Heisenberg123

    Heisenberg123 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    703
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012

    Sep 25, 2012
    703
    74
    78
    Hamilton, ON
    do you have a case on maybe thats affecting your power button from registering you pressing it

    i can do it again and again untill i get bored testing it
     
    scary alien likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...