• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

General Questions. I need help. I dont understand

Hello All,

Im very new at this but from what i know this is all very interesting and i want to learn more. I do have a few questions that i could not find answers to.

• What is the difference between operating systems? as far as Andriod 1, 1.5, 1.6, 2.0.
  • Ive seen some phone that strictly run 1.0 or 1.5 or 2.0 but there are also some phones that run 1.5 + something else. Can someone explain this to me?
  • I dont have an android phone yet but i want one. If i get a pgone that is running 1.0 and i want to upgrade it to 2.0 is that possible? Or if the phone i get is running 1.5 + custom ui can i get that to just run 1.5 or 2.0? Or if i get a phone and android comes out with a new version like 2.5 can I upgrade my phone to it?
  • What is the most powerful device out or coming out? I dont care what carrier but if i get a phone i want it to be the best device. I would also want it to have the latest version of android but if i can upgrade it then it doesnt matter. I am also unsure about getting a phone with a custom ui ontop of android because i only want what google is making. I dont know how good a custom ui will be. Am i right?
  • Im also seeing alot of videos about ROM's what are they what do they do and why are they so cool? and why do some of them suck?
for all of my questions i dont need to know how to do them just the info behind them and what they they are.

Thank you all in advance for helping me out!

Does anyone know the answers to my questions?

I want to gt the best device i can but i dont know anything really about these phones. i want to learn what "rooted" means and what "ROMs" are. i dont need to know how to root my phone because i dont have one.

Can anyone help with my questions here and in my previous post? or am I posting this in the wrong place?

Upvote 0
i recommend reading the following