1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Generic Android updates

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Electraglider, Dec 8, 2011.

  1. Electraglider

    Electraglider Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    7
    0
    25
    Since there is no Platinumtel Samsung intercept M910 forum I have decided to ask this here.
    Firstly I have just purchased the above phone from Platinumtel which is supposed to come with 2.1. I have not received it yet and this will be my first android phone. I have been doing a lot of reading and watching YouTube videos. Since Platinumtel is not a mainstream carrier and everything through them seems to come on a budget, it may be unlikely there will be an upgrade forthcoming from them. My question is, is there someplace I can download a generic version of 2.2 or 2.3 (if it will run on the Intercept) that I can install on the phone that won't preclude it from working on the Platinumtel network? Also, are all the solutions for rooting and upgrading and romming and ramming and all that stuff necessarily dependent on Windows platforms? I am a Linux user, which is why I like the idea of Android, and I have seen some of these rooting programs referenced that are .exe files. .exe files won't run on Linux.

    I have other questions but this should do for starters.

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Welcome to AF :D

    Because both Spring and Virgin Mobile have intercepts and they are running 2.2 it is possible you will get an upgrade in the future.

    Unless you are comfortable trying to port a rom from Sprint I don't think any current rom out there is going to work properly for your phone.

    If you want to root to remove/freeze bloatware then you could try the Intercept root APK located here Intercept Root Apk and Recovery flasher it should work on all intercepts according to the dev but as always use at your own risk.
     
    Electraglider likes this.
  3. Electraglider

    Electraglider Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    7
    0
    25
    So what you seem to be saying here is, since Platinumtel uses the Sprint network then an upgrade from Sprint should work for the Intercept that uses the Platinumtel network. If so, does anybody know where I could get that upgrade?
     
  4. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    No, there will be different things that need to be on the software between the two networks. You would need to either do the development yourself and port it to work on your device or another developer would need to. If you are not an experienced developer then I would not suggest trying to do it yourself as you could easily make your phone unusable.

    I don't think I have seen any roms for either Sprint or VM that are higher than 2.2.
     
  5. Electraglider

    Electraglider Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    7
    0
    25
    Thanks for your reply and as I am not a developer I shall refrain from making any attempts at upgrading unless or until such is made available for this phone.
     
  6. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    I still think you may end up getting an OTA update to 2.2 because both Sprint and VM have updated to 2.2, I don't think the phone would be able to handle 2.3 so if you get an OTA it will probably be the only one.
     
  7. Electraglider

    Electraglider Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    7
    0
    25
    Okay, I'll wait and see what transpires after I get the phone. Since the phone itself has been out for awhile maybe there will be an OTA available when I get it. It was advertised as having 2.1 so I just thought I would try and get a jump on the upgrade before I get the phone.
     
  8. jluyt

    jluyt Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012

    Jan 8, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I have an Platinumtel Intercept too. It was sooooo slow. I rooted it using the APK mentioned above. then I UNINSTALLED (not only froze) ALL the Sprint bloatware. It is now super fast! There is a sprint Updater I was reluctant to remove, but eventually did.

    Now need to manually maintain this phone for updates

    J
     

Share This Page

Loading...