• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Getting a new SD card...what do I need to do to use it?

I think this is my last question for right now!

I decided to buy a better SD card than the one that came with this phone. The phone is new and nothing is on the SD card so far. Can I just put the new one in and all will be ok? Or do I have to format it? Please tell me what I need to do and how to do this. I am a newbie to Android and do not want to mess up the phone. Please reply as soon as possible because I am sitting here with the new card and do not want to do anything yet....thanks!

I have a new SD on the way and am also curious about the format question. As for your current one being empty, are you sure? By the time I discovered Astro file manager, there was a bunch of stuff on it. Now that I have a pantload on it, I think I can just copy it (including hidden files) to my PC, then copy it back to the new SD... I think.

Upvote 0
Well I just read the manual that came with the phone and it tells you to first go into the SD card in the settings and press "unmount" and then it will remind you to format it before taking it out to save what you have on there. Then you just put the new card in. No formatting the new card whatsover. The phone recognized the new card immediately and no problems.

Upvote 0
From the book: