1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Getting kicked off the Internet

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by BusyMama, Aug 22, 2010.

  1. BusyMama

    BusyMama Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    12
    0
    35
    Ever since the upgrade a few months ago I've had the problem of getting kicked off the Internet randomly. It only really seems to happen with two specific sites--my credit union, and another forum where I'm a member.

    It never happens at the same time or on the same page. For example, sometimes I can log all the way into my credit union's site and check my accounts, the next time, I get through two screens of the log-in process, it freezes up, then kicks me out.

    The same with the other forum. Sometimes I can post responses to other members, the next time when I attempt to click on a thread to read through it, I get kicked off.

    Today I finally did a backup and did a factory reset, but I've been kicked off of both sites this evening, since the back up. I'm very frustrated.
     

    Advertisement

  2. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    2,030
    264
    163
    I'm a cableguy....really
    Monterey, CA
    Maybe it kicks you out because you have no money? :D

    What do you mean by kick you out? The browser closes? Of you get logged off of that site?
    Can you access any other site after you've been "kicked out" of those sites?
     
  3. BusyMama

    BusyMama Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    12
    0
    35
    The screen freezes, then goes black, then I go back to my home screen of my phone. The browser completely shuts down and it logs me off.
     
  4. ruffneck104

    ruffneck104 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    12
    1
    16
    +1
     
  5. BlueDC2

    BlueDC2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010

    Mar 7, 2010
    361
    52
    53
    You're not rooted with a rom that has JIT enabled, are you? I know you said since the update, but I'm just double checking.
     
  6. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,644
    759
    223

    I think BusyMama is saying that his/her browser crashes.

    (I am assuming that BM is talking about a "stock" 2.1 phone.)

    The stock HTC browser crashes a lot; I just accepted that as a fact when I was using stock ROMs. You can try doing things like clearing the browser's cache, history, or cookies, but frankly, I don't think that's going to help much. You could also try turning off Flash in the browser - that might help and might not.

    Short of rooting the phone and installing a ROM that doesn't use the HTC browser, you could try using a different browser - either Dolphin or Opera Mini.

    I found the browser in the Aloysius V12 ROM to be rock-solid; unfortunately, I'm not sure what the "pedigree" of the browser in that (Sprint-derived) ROM is, so I don't know if it appears in other ROMs as well.

    Good luck,

    eu1
     
  7. BusyMama

    BusyMama Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    12
    0
    35
    It's a Droid Eris that isn't rooted. (I am still figuring out what that means. Hadn't heard of it until joining here.)

    And yes, I imagine it's my browser that's crashing. I just find it so odd that it never happened until that system upgrade came through a few months ago.
     
  8. meanm50

    meanm50 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    139
    7
    36
    Marketing manager for national franchise
    PDX
    I have found that certain websites have a pop up (which CAN crash the browser) or a script the browser doesn't like. That is what I have noticed.
     
  9. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,644
    759
    223
    The easiest thing for you to try is a different browser - try Opera Mini or Dolphin Browser.
     
  10. cmccmc

    cmccmc Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    14
    0
    35
    Massachusetts
    My browser always dies the first time in. I press it once, and it works for a little bit, and then disappears. I thien have to fire it up again, and it is usually good then. Just one of those things...
     
  11. BusyMama

    BusyMama Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    12
    0
    35
    I didn't even know another browser was an option. Thanks! I'll give that a try.
     

Share This Page

Loading...