1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root GingerVillain Camera - focus

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by PazPez, Jun 18, 2011.

  1. PazPez

    PazPez Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010

    Nov 3, 2010
    27
    0
    15
    Hi,

    I'm using Gingervillain but the camera seems to have lost the tap to focus function that I had with sense. I'm trying to take some photos of objects, but the camera just focuses on the background and not the object.

    Does anyone know if I can change settings to solve this?

    Or can I download a different camera from the market with tap to focus?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    20,764
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    20,764
    13,818
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    No, the GV camera (the gingerbread CyanogenMod camera) does not have tap to focus. I find it a bit odd, but it has less functionality than the Froyo CyanogenMod camera.

    Personally I remove the CM camera from the zip before flashing and flash the camera apk from Miui. Gotta go now, but will dig a zip out later.
     
  3. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    20,764
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    20,764
    13,818
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    OK, here it is: MiuiCamera_only_English.zip. This gives tap to focus back.

    It was posted a couple of months back in the GingerVillain thread at xda. Some people were able to just flash it, but I find it unreliable unless I remove the default camera first. If you are S-Off that is easy, otherwise you can do it using adb, or remove camera.apk from the ROM zip before flashing the ROM.

    As with any flash, take a nandroid first.
     
    shauny13 and PazPez like this.
  4. PazPez

    PazPez Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010

    Nov 3, 2010
    27
    0
    15
    Thanks for your help. I'll give it a go!
     
  5. lowkey69ac

    lowkey69ac Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    Canada

    Do you know the commands to remove it with adb?
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Its in the removing system apps using adb guide in the sticky thread.
     
  7. geemacd

    geemacd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Can this be done on another rom, ie can I do this over the redux 1.2 rom and if so, is there a step by step somewhere to do this ???

    help me hadron-kenobi, your my only hope lol
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Yes it can. Flash it like a rom.
     
  9. geemacd

    geemacd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Cheers for that, can you help on how I can remove the current system set-up files etc from my phone before I flash this over the top ?
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    You dont have to, it should just work but if like hadron you need to remove it...

     
  11. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    20,764
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    20,764
    13,818
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Being S-Off, if I forget to remove it before flashing I can always just uninstall it using Titanium.

    To be honest I only know from experience that I needed to remove the original camera app with GingerVillain (& even then it worked without for other people). I've used it on Redux and CM7 as well, but in those cases I removed the original camera out of habit, so don't know that it wouldn't have worked just fine if I had not.
     
  12. geemacd

    geemacd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    cheers everyone, flashed the other camera without removing the 1st one, cant see any real difference but at least my phone never failed lol
     
  13. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    20,764
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    20,764
    13,818
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    You say "can't see any difference" - you mean the same look and feel, and no touch to focus? If so, that's the problem I had unless I removed the original camera first.
     
  14. geemacd

    geemacd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    on the original HTC camera, you would tap the screen and the camera would focus in where you tapped, dont have that fiunctionality now on either of the camera's I have flashed.
     
  15. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Like hadron says, try removing the original camera. sounds like you are not loading the miui camera and each time it is loading the standard one.
     
  16. geemacd

    geemacd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    thanks for that

    removed both camera's using adb then reflashed the Miui one and its a different look from the other one (which is a shame as it was quite a nice interface), but the auto-focus feature is much better which is what counts. Pity none do the self timer that I can see.

    Would be good to let redux developer know about this as a suggestion on xda, unfortunately I cant as I dont have posting rights in that part of the forum yet.

    Any chance someone can suggest it on my behalf ?
     
  17. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Redux has only just changed from cm camera to aosp so doubt it will change so soon. Since it works by simply adding to the zip, don't really need to get the dev involved imo. It's not like it needs compiling at source level.

    Everyone always wants something different in a Rom so things that are easily changed to suit are best.left to the individual imo
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...