1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Got Froyo OTA. Menu button no longer unlocks screen...?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DavidinGA, Sep 3, 2010.

  1. DavidinGA

    DavidinGA Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    128
    8
    36
    Was this option removed or am I doing something wrong? Now I have to slide the dumb thing off the screen to unlock...
     

    Advertisement

  2. scooz16

    scooz16 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    218
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    218
    22
    38
    Baltimore
    confirmed. Mine doesn't work anymore either.
     
  3. gonzoguy24

    gonzoguy24 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,104
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,104
    41
    118
    Structural Engineer - Nuclear Industry
    Aurora, IL
    Here too. I like this though
     
  4. DavidinGA

    DavidinGA Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    128
    8
    36
    really annoying cuz I always used the menu button to unlock...arrgghh
     
  5. mike1

    mike1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    191
    10
    38
    Boston
    so your saying that your too lazy to move the bar down
     
  6. DavidinGA

    DavidinGA Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    128
    8
    36
    Yes. Yes I am.
     
  7. Roger Zoul

    Roger Zoul Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    35
    5
    16
    I think it depends on what you're use to. I slide...but if I had been using the menu button and become used to that, I'd be perturbed.
     
  8. gonzoguy24

    gonzoguy24 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,104
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,104
    41
    118
    Structural Engineer - Nuclear Industry
    Aurora, IL
    Agreed.
     
  9. Skorpios1027

    Skorpios1027 Frell me dead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,299
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    1,299
    231
    143
    West Jordan, UT
    Took me a while to get used to not being able to use the menu button to unlock (still try every now and then:D). Haven't had that feature in any of the 2.2 ROMs I have flashed:(.
     
  10. ajj

    ajj Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    I loved being able to unlock my phone with the menu button. Did it all the time. Didn't have a single accidental unlocking this way. I do not like having to slide down-ward. I can see if people were having trouble with accidental unlocks they wouldn't like the menu button unlock, but MAKE IT A SETTING for those of use that DO like it. :mad:

    ajj
     
  11. thelastdraco

    thelastdraco Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    163
    12
    38
    Philadelphia, PA
    before (on 2.1) when you touched the slider it said, drag down or tap menu to unlock, but now when you tap the slider it says drag down to unlock so yeah, menu doesn't unlock anymore.
     
  12. stutupid

    stutupid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010

    Sep 4, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    So where do we go to register a complaint about this new undocumented feature? Unlocking using the menu key was a method I really liked.
     
  13. ramcharger1979

    ramcharger1979 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    250
    13
    58
    Managment
    Boise, ID
    I never even knew you could use the Menu button so this does not hurt my feelings at all.
     
  14. BoulderAndroidFan

    BoulderAndroidFan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    296
    18
    58
    Multimedia
    West
    I am New Incredible owner after dumping my Eris. I was used to using the menu button for unlock and was frustrated that it wasn't available on the Incredible. The Tips and Tricks pamphlet that came with the phone shows that the menu button is one way to unlock phone. Reassurring to know that I'm not the only one and that it's an issue with the Froyo upgrade!
     
  15. SeattleYanksFan

    SeattleYanksFan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    932
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    932
    242
    93
    USA
    This thread is begging for my typical, "YOU MUST GET WIDGETLOCKER!!!" WidgetLocker Lockscreen - Android app on AppBrain

    But seriously, you want to unlock your phone with your mind and you can ask the dev to implement that feature and he'd probably do it.

    For $1.99, the app will change your Android experience forever.
     
    BoulderAndroidFan likes this.
  16. tarponbeach

    tarponbeach Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    359
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    359
    68
    53
    +1 WidgetLocker is great !
     
  17. killadanny

    killadanny Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    847
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    847
    102
    93
    Good, dont want snoops going through my phone. :)
     
  18. BoulderAndroidFan

    BoulderAndroidFan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    296
    18
    58
    Multimedia
    West
    Never heard of this app till this post. Thanks for the tip. It's like getting a new launcher but just for the lock screen. Works great and more customization than you could figure out!
     

Share This Page

Loading...