• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

GPS Tracker Application. What would you suggest?

JaSauders

Aug 2, 2011
So I'm new to the Android community (which is kind of odd given my IT background and Google/Linux interests) but I'm finally on board. I'm finding a ton of great uses for this phone. Some for entertainment, and some for some more serious scenarios.

I tend to mountain bike solo quite a lot. I've had my fair share of falls, and as a result I'm looking for a reasonable GPS tracker application. I've found quite a few, all with pros and cons. I figured I'd highlight them here and see what users thought.

Glympse - Great app. It's by far the best I've used, however it can only be running in a max of 4 hour intervals before the GPS link you send expires. You can re-up it, but that's kind of annoying when I'm on the trail. And yes, I do spend upwards of 7-10 hours on some trails I ride. I would just rather have a "set it and forget it" type of application.

InstaMapper - Nice app, but I've read some mixed reviews about their server reliability. On top of that, the link you send to the end user doesn't show a LIVE updated location of where you're at. The user has to F5 the snot out of their keyboard to see what's up. When I'm on my road bike and training, this is a pain because it doesn't allow the user to see a real time speed. Only the speed from seconds ago while the satellites and their web browser were reloading.