• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help post. Google notifications are grey squares.

My wife's OnePlus Nord 2 running Android 11 oxygen OS v11.3 shows Google notifications as grey squares lately. Other apps are fine and we can't delete and reinstall. I'm not that tech savvy so I need a little help here! Thanks

Attachments

• IMG-20221006-WA0004.jpg
    IMG-20221006-WA0004.jpg
    59.2 KB · Views: 95
Well since this just started recently hopefully it's just a one-off glitch that popped up -- perhaps some odd corruption to a random file that's part of the Chrome app's icon. If you look in her Nord's Settings >> Apps >> App management menu is the icon for the Chrome app look like it's OK or is that showing as a grey square too?
Try going into the Settings >> Notifications & Status bar menu and toggle some of those options in the sub-menus off and on (or on and off depending on how she prefers) to see if that that clears up the glitch. (Sometimes this will 'over-write' a background config file so if it is just a corrupt file in the cache or whatever it gets replaced.)
If that doesn't work, there's also the Settings >> Personalizations >> Icons menu. Try toggling through some of those options.

Upvote 0
Bummer that nothing has helped clear up the issue, and hopefully it does go away with something like an update to the Chrome app. Her Nord 2 is about a year old isn't it? OnePlus should still be providing monthly updates (or bi-monthly) yes? Perhaps that might fix things.

Is this something that is really bothering her every time she sees it or just some minor irritation that's mostly just a curious observation? It's just an icon in the Notifications, like most of us, in due time eventually she'll just get used to that grey box being the Chrome app notification (...and probably be surprised when/if it does return to its original colored ball-shaped icon).