• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Apps How hard would it be for me to code this simple app without any previous experience?

Frederik92

Lurker
Sep 7, 2016
Hi everyone,

I'm currently a graphic design student and for one of my assignments I need to come up with some stuff to use for my portfolio.

I came up with the idea that instead of giving out business cards to potential clients, I could maybe make a really simple app that I would only use on my personal Samsung Galaxy S7.

All the app would do is to just have a static page with my logo on it and a box for the potential client to enter their email address. Then the app would automatically send an email to this address with pretty much a digital business card for myself with basic contact information and different links to my social media and webpage/online portfolio.

So it would function pretty much as newsletters do, where you enter your email in a box and then my digital business card would automatically get sent instead of a newsletter.

I don't have any previous experience coding apps. This semester I am doing a basic class in coding with HTML5 and CSS, but I don't even know if you use this for coding Android apps, I just thought I'd throw it out there just in case. And would I need to root my S7 in order to have the app just on my phone without it having to go through Google for approval or whatever? (Again I have no idea how any of this works)

If it should end up being too hard for me to code myself I would perhaps be open for the possibility of paying anyone that can code it for me as long it doesn't end up being too expensive.

Any answers at all are greatly appreciated, cheers :)

The sticky posts at the top of this forum have a lot of information and links on where to start if you're new to Android app development.

Your app idea is a good project for someone starting to learn as it doesn't sound too complicated.