• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

How to change rom?

elrooter

Oct 23, 2012
Hello!

I am a beginner with rooting and stuff like that but I'm sure there are many experts here who can help :D

I heard you can change the way android looks but you also need to root and all of those stuff, so :
Are there guides somewhere in the forum of rooting for example .. Samsung Galaxy SIII?
also, if you root, and something goes wrong your phone will "brick" right? so are there ways of fixing a bricked phone or you need to dump it? (if there are guides for that can link too please?)
Finally . . I heard there are backups and backup apps, but .. are the backups used for fixing a bricked phone or those backups and backup apps are not backing the ROM but backing your contacts , apps, etc?

Thanks alot for helpers!

Hiya Elrooter! Welcome to the forums!

With your questions, there are different answers depending on different devices.

I softbricked my HTC Evo V this morning, but it was nothing that a few terminal commands couldn't help!

As for rooting, it depends on your device. For example, some phones you can use a one click root program, and it pushes the files and voila! Done!

Others can be a little more tricky. HTC Is pretty simple, lets say. Register > Unlock bootloader > flash some things. Done.

Which device are you looking into rooting? So we can be more helpful :)

Upvote 0
Hello and thanks for your fast reply ! !
I was thinking of Samsung galaxy SIII :p do you think it's a good idea?
btw you said a few terminal commands .. but I am such a beginner I have no idea about those commands :D is there any place I can learn ? I've also seen something about jigs to fix bricked phone (whats that ?!!)

Upvote 0