• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Apps How would I go about making a game like this ?

Am I an idiot for assuming that I would not need to learn a lot of java for this project ?

• YES

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • no

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Sherman1873

Lurker
May 8, 2016
Alright, first I want to say sorry for the title, I know I could have done much better.
Now that I have mentioned that I will explain why this thread was made.

I recently played some of the Lifeline games and they got me really inspired to make something similar, a text based adventure game where you have only a few simple pre-made choices to pick from and a great story.

I am a writer and a tech guy, but never really got into code. All I did was plan.
So I don't know java or any coding language anywhere near enough to make such a game, but I imagine that this type of a game would be the simplest to make, or one of the easiest possible games. Simple tree story progression.

Anyhow, so I decided to write a great story and make a similar game to Lifeline, or Lifeline 2.
What I am searching for is a great video or text tutorial explaining how to make a similar android game.

After searching throughout the internet I could only find tutorials for simple apps and very basic games, not anything like Lifeline, however I guess that is where I should start and after I learn how to use the code properly I should progress onto making a tad more complex game such as, again "Lifeline".

So I am asking the community to share links to any tutorials which explain how to tackle such a complex task. It didn't matter how hard I tried, I just could not find anything that would help me learn how to make such a game, I hope that I wouldn't need to learn a lot of java before I could start working on this genre. The game shouldn't be too complex to make. I hope.

Thank you for reading this whole message ! I am awaiting your response : ).