1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support htc hero headphone jack error

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mark2109, Oct 25, 2009.

  1. mark2109

    mark2109 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    my htc hero has just developed a problem....
    it says the headphones are in but they are not and because of this i am unable to make or receive calls without putting it on loud speaker and are unable to play music without headphones.... does anyone know how to resolve the issue???
    many thanks....Mark
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mr.Fister

    Mr.Fister Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    4
    0
    5
  3. buttered_monkey

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009

    Oct 13, 2009
    6
    0
    5
  4. PaulWilks

    PaulWilks Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009

    Sep 28, 2009
    46
    1
    36
    Undergraduate
    Cambridgeshire, UK
    I had this happen after only a few days. Once I regained composure I realised that it works fine after switching it off and on again.
     
  5. buttered_monkey

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009

    Oct 13, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    Hmm, yeah but.... You have to switch it on and off every time you use your headphones. And that takes about 1-2 mins to boot back up etc.

    And if you receive a phone call during using your headphones you'll never get it working in time to catch it...

    Or can you use the inbuilt microphone and headphones at the same time...?
     
  6. PaulWilks

    PaulWilks Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009

    Sep 28, 2009
    46
    1
    36
    Undergraduate
    Cambridgeshire, UK
    I had this occur once and since then the headphones have worked fine. If its an ongoing problem then its probably more serious.
     
  7. buttered_monkey

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009

    Oct 13, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    Yup happens every time, hence the post...

    Be careful if its happened once - as I say it happened on 2 hero's to me and was intermittent to start. But this was with the same headphones each time (Sennheiser) - perhaps their minijacks are very slightly a different shape and eventually this messes up the contacts...

    I dunno - very depressing... Hence the cry for help!
     
  8. PaulWilks

    PaulWilks Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009

    Sep 28, 2009
    46
    1
    36
    Undergraduate
    Cambridgeshire, UK
    Aahh my headphones are Sennheiser's too. Fortunately I've not had a problem since though.
     
  9. Spacemonkey

    Spacemonkey Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009

    Sep 17, 2009
    52
    0
    35
    Yep, mine was doing this too - and I was using Sennheiser's! Must be a connection there somewhere.

    Didn't get too serious in the end because calls were still working fine, but there was a problem that I can no longer remember. Did clear itself up in the end though.

    SM
     
  10. chrisklaphek

    chrisklaphek Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    I have the very same problem. Installed the Headset Toggle widget, it fixes the problem for the moment. At least it makes the 'headset-icon' in the top of the screen dissappear, but than, after a while when you receive a phone call, you can hear the other, but he can't hear you because the microphone does not work untill you use the headset toggle-widget (on/off), if it works, and that's not always the case.
    I mailed HTC about it, no answer so far.
     
  11. copton

    copton Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    My HTC Hero just emerged the exact same behaviour. Any replies from HTC yet?

    Interestingly I am also using Sennheiser headphones...
     
  12. walkinhotdog

    walkinhotdog Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    122
    6
    36
    USA
    Weird, I just got this problem after about 5 months of problem free usage. I even uninstalled all my recent apps and restarted the phone a million times already. Just did a factory reset and its still there. It seems to happen whenever i restart the phone. So i have to keep poking a headphone in there until the icon goes away. I have never even stuck a headphone in there before this happened. This has happened once before this but a restart solved it. Any help would be greatly appreciated
     
  13. kbartk

    kbartk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Macedonia
    This is the issue why I have joined this forum.I have a same problem with the fantom headset and seems that no one can solve the problem.I have mailed the problem to HTC and like posted from another user no reply.One friend of mine said to me that if I carry my phone in jeans/trousers pocket this can produce such a problem(probably from heat or sweat )and he told me to carry it in some small pouch or bag.Since then the problem is gone,but this is no solution.If some one have solution please post it.If you agree to carry a phone in a pouch/bag and solve the problem please tell me
     
  14. walkinhotdog

    walkinhotdog Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    122
    6
    36
    USA
    So my problem went away for good after leaving it off for a night instead of turning it off and back on right away. Weird. Technology always does random things. But if your one of those ppl who have this problem constantly i feel really bad for you cuz its a pain in the a$$
     
  15. robogo

    robogo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    268
    16
    58
    student
    Croatia
    Isn't there an app called Headset or something like that which lets you turn the headset on and off as you please?
     
  16. Ronald19

    Ronald19 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Had the same problem,

    go to toggleheadset - Project Hosting on Google Code

    Instal the app, go to the home screen, find some empty space, press the + sign in the right bottom of your screen, select widget and Headset Toggle Widget.


    Worked for me, not the way it should, awel....

    Ron
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...