• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Hydra over/under clocked kernal with wireless N

did you try all 3 of the overclocked kernels? He says to sequentially try them if the first/second don't work.

Sure did, even tried the very last one with no wireless n and overclocked a little less than than the others as I could care less about "N". I just downloaded and tried to install using rom manager. I'm a root newb so I could have screwed something up, but it all appeared pretty simple?

Upvote 0
Sure did, even tried the very last one with no wireless n and overclocked a little less than than the others as I could care less about "N". I just downloaded and tried to install using rom manager. I'm a root newb so I could have screwed something up, but it all appeared pretty simple?

I don't use ROM Manager, but it's really really easy if you just use ClockWorkMod. Put the .zip onto the root of your sdcard, go to the CWM screen and do install from zip, find the hydra kernal zip and then install it, reboot your phone and enjoy!

Upvote 0
I'll try that method, do I have to rename the zip file or anything? Just wondering if there is some "common knowledge" that i'm missing?

edit: NO GO with the above method either. just hangs on the htc incredible screen, restoring backup now. Guess my phone just doesnt like hydra?

It doesn't need to be renamed. What kernal did you try? I know the site is down right now, but I first tried the Overclock, Undervolt (without wireless N) which was #2 in the list, that one hung as soon as the phone got to the lock screen. So I downloaded the Overclock, Undervolt, with a slight overvolt (without wireless N), that was #4. That one worked. Maybe try the next one like I did.

Upvote 0