1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root If you rooted your Vizio tablet, be warned about 1.5 update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Maine Coon, Dec 3, 2011.

  1. Maine Coon

    Maine Coon Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,131
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    1,131
    328
    163
    Male
    Heavy Metal
    San Francisco
    The update takes away root and you will not be able to root it again using the same procedure.

    Download Titanium Backup Pro and freeze Vizio Update service if you want to keep your VTAB1008 rooted.
     

    Advertisement

  2. andymcj

    andymcj Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011

    Dec 3, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I updated my VTab to the OTA 1.5 update this morning..

    However the version still reads 1.4 even after some cold reboots, here are the details listed after the update:

    Android version: 2.3.2 GRH78C
    Kernel Version: 2.6.35.7+
    Hardware Version: Hardware ID:5(PVT1)
    Software Version: V.I.A Plus 1.4
    Uboot Version: 1.1.18
    Build Number: 1.9.57

    I hope this helps some of you to see what changes, but I am still unsure as to why Vizio promote this OTA update as 1.5 when the details in the About Device still clearly indicate 1.4? I guess this is just a ruse to make you think you are getting the next level of features but in reality it is just to stop people rooting their devices.

    AndyMcJ
     
  3. rnaodm

    rnaodm Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    Worcester, Ma
    Thanks I jumped on the forums to check the OTA update that just poped upon my vizio.

    So all it really does is prevent rooting? Seems odd Vizio would even bother with that considering theres really no custom rom scene for the vtabs
     
  4. BarryD9545

    BarryD9545 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011

    Dec 5, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Silly me, I didn't check first.

    I've lost root, and no longer see ad-hoc networks: tethering is lost.

    <sigh>

    Hopefully there'll be a new method soon, tethering is rather important to me.
     
  5. probbiethe1

    probbiethe1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    26
    2
    16
  6. mooney101

    mooney101 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    I was about to get one of these does this mean it can't be rooted or as this been fixed? Thank you
     
  7. BarryD9545

    BarryD9545 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011

    Dec 5, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    It's been a while, has there been any work on rooting/tethering the vizio to ad-hoc?

    Thanks!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...