1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Is HTC Sense UI worth the overhead?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Geewiz, May 25, 2010.

  1. Geewiz

    Geewiz Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Publishing
    Northern VA
    I've done the upgrade to 2.1 on my Sprint Hero and am overall very pleased. I do have this nagging feeling though that the Sense UI sits there doing things which I'm not interested in and otherwise kind of sucking up resources.

    For instance: one of the apparent Sense UI "goodies" is that when I unlock the screen after the phone goes to sleep, the home screen presents an animated wallpaper representing current weather conditions. I.E. clouds rolling across, or a hot sweltering sun shimmering on the screen.

    Beyond that, however, what's the point? If I want to slide to a different screen, the animation seems to make things lag a bit.

    Sprint and HTC seem to make quite a big fuss over the Sense UI. Is it more than useless window dressing? Am I missing something? Would the phone run even snappier without it?
     

    Advertisement

  2. mysticmead

    mysticmead Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,348
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    1,348
    175
    143
    Kingston, GA
    would the phone run snappier... maybe a little. is SenseUI worth it.. in my opinion yes it is. you can always turn off SenseUI on your phone and see if you like it.

    menu>settings>applications>manage applications>HTC Sense>clear data. then hit your home button and don't pick SenseUI. that gives you the standard 3 screen vanilla Android. remember, all those SenseUI widgets are no longer available to use.

    OR

    download the app called home switcher. this allows you to switch back and forth
     
  3. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    I go in spurts about if I like it or not.... currently, I'm using it on the zen Rom and LOVE it.
     
  4. tailsthecat

    tailsthecat Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    171
    2
    56
    that right there just seemingly reset my home screens to default. im on 2.1 official
     
  5. nick325i

    nick325i Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    491
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    491
    189
    68
    I have seen lag with and with out Rosie/Sense.

    I say the HTC Widgets make sense worthwhile.

    Just my .02 sense
     
  6. Taterus Maximus

    Taterus Maximus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    267
    27
    43
    Student, Verizon Customer Care
    Boise, ID for the moment
    I don't really use any of the HTC widgets, and I also don't use 7 screens, so I've been switching from Helix and Launcher Pro
     
  7. dpeeps74

    dpeeps74 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    138
    5
    36
    Austin
    in my personal experience, and this phone definitely seems to give everyone some real varying results...my phone seems to lag worse without Sense. The same thing with stock 1.5 and with Fresh 2.1.1. everytime i disable sense, everything just seems to crawl.
     
  8. KitsapAndroid

    KitsapAndroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    743
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    743
    118
    113
    Male
    Group Sales Associate/Front Desk Clerk
    Washington (state)
    I have no issues with Sense and like the widgets that it comes with. I feel fortunate that my phone has mostly dodged all the crazy, phone breaking "bullets" so to speak. Only one I really get is the dialer lag, and even that is manageable for me.
     
  9. hood420

    hood420 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    371
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    371
    21
    38
    Lansing, MI
    That's exactly what the first method he described does.
     
  10. tailsthecat

    tailsthecat Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    171
    2
    56
    doesnt give me an option to select anything, just resets my home screens.
     
  11. Drazil

    Drazil Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    131
    8
    36
    There's two "clear" buttons on the app info screen. I think you need to hit the first one "Clear Defaults", and not the second one "Clear Cache", the second one resets all your scenes.

     
  12. chinkster

    chinkster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    316
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    316
    11
    38
    SF
    yes you need to "clear defaults" not "clear data". if you clear data it will just reset your screens to factory icon placements. clearing the defaults and then pressing home button after will give you a choice of using HTC Sense or the regular HOME. so again, CLEAR DEFAULTS!
     
  13. the hero

    the hero Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    42
    1
    16
    Virginia
    I've tried to clear defaults, but I can't click on the clear defaults button. Anyone have any suggestions?
     
  14. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    If you are 2.1 you can't "turn off" Sense.
     
  15. chinkster

    chinkster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    316
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    316
    11
    38
    SF
    in other words you are screwed.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...