1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root is installing icarus really worth it?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SLF718, Apr 19, 2011.

  1. SLF718

    SLF718 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    criminal justice grad
    Brooklyn, NY
    I want to install Icarus on my huawei ascend for metro pcs but I dont know if its really worth it or not? I have rooted on my phone and im on this website frequently taking in as much info as possible and thanking along the way!!! What is Icarus really about? what are the cool features everyone so call talks about? im acutually scared about installing it if its not worth it
     

    Advertisement

  2. MoneyHoarder87

    MoneyHoarder87 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    583
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    583
    112
    93
    Army/Student
    RGV
    Go to the How to install Icaurs thread and it explains all the benefits of the rom, but it would behoove you to just go with cm6/cm7.
    This could also help you make a decision.
    http://androidforums.com/ascend-all-things-root/320265-ultimate-ascend-customization-guide.html
     
  3. danaj

    danaj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    723
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    723
    245
    93
    Female
    Tucson, Az
    I ran Icarus for about a month, it was much better than stock. I just started cm6, and i like it much better already, go with cm6, or cm7.
     
  4. Anduiril

    Anduiril Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    426
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011

    Feb 18, 2011
    426
    157
    68
    Male
    Electronics Technician
    Orlando, FL
    Icarus is a stripped down (no Metro or Cricket programs installed) and cleaned up (better optimized) version of the stock rom. It is faster and more efficient. It's biggest advantage over the stock is it's a2sd, which moves ALL (whether designed for it or not) apps to your sd card and will also move your Dalvik cache freeing up more memory on your phone. It is a huge improvement over stock. More after next quote.

    CM6 is 2.2 FroYo. Pip has it fully functional, there is an mms fix that needs to be installed for MetroPcs but he is working on that. It comes overclocked to 710Mhz. ***Some phone (mine included) are not stable at 710. And Pip will be releasing non-overclocked versions with future builds. I did manage to get it up and running using setcpu to drop the speed but it was very time consuming, due to the reboots.

    CM7 is 2.3 Gingerbread. It is almost fully functional. The known bugs are posted on the site. It comes running at 600Mhz but has the ability built in to overclock to 710.

    If you want/need fully functional. I recommend CM6 and if you are one of the few that can't run it, then use Icarus. If the bugs with CM7 aren't something that you use then it is a very viable option for you as well.
     
    la sal likes this.
  5. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    +1

    skip icarus and go with cm6/or cm7, but cm6 ismore stable....
     
    SLF718 likes this.
  6. Sinner67

    Sinner67 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    232
    40
    43
    Conway, AR
    You may want to install Icarus for practice before trying CM6/7. It is easier to install and will give you enough experience to do the others.
     
    SLF718 likes this.
  7. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    it is?? hows that, same process lol, except what installing gapps?
     
  8. danaj

    danaj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    723
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    723
    245
    93
    Female
    Tucson, Az
    I think they are the same in terms of ease of installation.
     
  9. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    the install is the same but the setup is longer.

    cm6 is getting a new build with mms already working for both carriers and clocked at 600 to avoid problems sometime within three days.
     
  10. Sinner67

    Sinner67 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    232
    40
    43
    Conway, AR
    Yeah, have to flash the update, then flash gapps, then boot into the phone and fix the Metro APN (he is on Metro), then have to flash the mms fix for Metro. And if you installed CWM 3, then you have to install the CWM 2 back before you can flash the mms fix.
     
  11. Sinner67

    Sinner67 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    232
    40
    43
    Conway, AR
    I hope that's not the same 3 days that Metro/Cricket/Huawei said we would get the 2.2 update lol

    Seriously, I would start by flashing Icarus 1.1 and try it out for a while, then flash CM6 and try it. Finally try CM7. That way you get a feel for the strangths and weakness of each rom and you can decide which one you want to keep.
     
  12. Rhonda1964

    Rhonda1964 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011

    Apr 17, 2011
    38
    5
    16
    under employed
    San Antonio, TX
    I would say, YES! Icarus rocks compared to stock. It's like getting a new phone. I just installed Icarus a couple of days ago and I can't stop marveling at what my phone is really capable of doing. I used to like my phone because of what it could do if only it actually would do things. But now it actually does things. lol

    I can actually use the apps I have, like Navigation, to actually navigate somewhere. Before, I would get wherever I was going before Navi could even load. I could go on and on about the performance improvements.

    I've been considering trying out CM6 or CM7 but every time I almost make the switch, I find new reasons to stay with Icarus for now. The biggest reasons being, it just works. I finally feel like I have a real Android phone that does real Android things.

    Good luck. Don't be afraid of Icarus.
     
    SLF718, chitownperri and TKnave like this.
  13. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    you only need cwm 2.1.5.8, it will install all roms just fine as well as the (soon obsolete) mertoff fixes.
     
  14. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    true true, I've just stuck with cwm 2.5.1.8 since the fix and I needed it for morphs. I stand corrected it even installs CM7 just fine.
     
  15. Sinner67

    Sinner67 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    232
    40
    43
    Conway, AR
    Hhmmmm, I was going off the posts in the "[ROM][WIP] CyanogenMod 7 | Android 2.3.3 (Gingerbread) | Current Version: 04162011" thread that said that people were having issues installing CM7 with CMW 3, and in your own thread "how to install cm6/7 (comprehensive)" where the instructions kinda indicated to use CMW 3 to flash CM6/7 then switch to CMW 2 to flash the mms fix. Now that I know CMW 2 works with everything so far, I won't need to keep switching between 2 and 3 lol :D
     
  16. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    CWM2.5.1.8 works fine for both snd will do the AMEND update scripts if you decide to flash morphs etc too. I never had any issues installing CM7 with CWM 3 tho.
     
  17. septembersrain

    septembersrain 句_句 Smurfing Awesome
    Rank:
     #69
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    1,948
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    1,948
    1,394
    343
    Female
    Esurance - Insurance Agent
    San Antonio, TX
    Installing Icarus was the hardest for me simply because I had to put the 2.5.1.8 CWM on it, Plus it was my very first time flashing this phone. It was also my first Android phone I'd changed outside of rooting. (Rom modified, I'd owned the M at the same time too). I've found Icarus a great start to getting into the "Rom" world.

    I had Icarus for like 2 months, I then proceeded flash cm6, Then exactly one and a half days later I flashed cm7 (LOL). I remember the first time I ever flashed Icarus I was all nervous and stuff, I had the jitters. Now someone is like "Hey try this!" I'm like OOKAAAYYYY! *Does back up and gets back to flashing*

    It's always worth it to mod the Ascend, The Devs (Isaac, Pip, etc) Are so amazing. They made this slow little phone into something positively fun to play with!

    EDIT: I am still using that 2.5.1.8 for everything. I've had no problems. Except the ones I'd made by flashing stuff that was just for testing purposes and trying to be clever. :p

    On a side note, I hate Angry Birds but it plays on cm6 and cm7 for me. >.>
     
    SLF718 and TKnave like this.

Share This Page

Loading...