• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Is there any NEED for a physical keyboard?

kbayer

Android Enthusiast
Dec 5, 2009
Houston, Tx
Aside from simply prefering a physical keyboard over a virtual keyboard, is there a reason now or possibly in the future to have one? My wife is trying to decide between getting a Droid herself -- or a Nexus. I know there are good reasons for and against, but this feature seems to be the fork in the road for her right now...

Aside from simply prefering a physical keyboard over a virtual keyboard, is there a reason now or possibly in the future to have one? My wife is trying to decide between getting a Droid herself -- or a Nexus. I know there are good reasons for and against, but this feature seems to be the fork in the road for her right now...

IMO that depends on the usage. For example, as a programmer, I have a personal need for a physical keyboard so that I can effectively operate in a terminal window (command line). Granted there are emulators that can effectively virtualize this scenario, but the keyboard seems to be more efficient.

That said, IMO, I don't think that the physical keyboard is necessary for "normal" day to day use - but again, that depends on one's definition of "normal".

Just my two cents...

Upvote 0
Is there really a need for skateboards? I don't ride one ... so there must not be a need for them, right?

(Get my point?) ;)

Not really.
I'm asking if there are situations or applications that arise where having a physical keyboard is required... maybe I should have phrased the queston better. Along the lines of a skateboard, I read somewhere that the next Droid will have little wheels that pop out of the bottom to assist in transporting office equipment, bulk containers, and luggage. They really are thinking out of the box, those Moto guys...

Upvote 0