1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Issues with sending video's using handcent?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MrGreen13, Jan 27, 2010.

  1. MrGreen13

    MrGreen13 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    43
    0
    15
    PRODUCTION DIRECTOR - WLVQ/WHOK/WNKK
    Columbus, OH
    Is anybody having issues sending or receiving video's as attachments while using handcent? My wife and I cannot attach video's to our text's? It always say's "file size exceeded" or something like that. I have tested this with 3 second long videos...so if a 3 second video is too big then what is the point of sending video's using handcent?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Caddyman

    Caddyman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    3,216
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    3,216
    638
    233
    Mechanical Piping Designer
    Delaware
    check to see what resolution you are shooting

    what phone does your wife have? i suppose you have an eris?

    i can send vids from my eris to my wifes bb storm1 fine....give us some more details.
     
  3. MrGreen13

    MrGreen13 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    43
    0
    15
    PRODUCTION DIRECTOR - WLVQ/WHOK/WNKK
    Columbus, OH
    sorry about that...we both have eris's and I was using medium resolution. Is that the issue?
     
  4. Caddyman

    Caddyman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    3,216
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    3,216
    638
    233
    Mechanical Piping Designer
    Delaware
    although ti sucks, try the least res and see what happens.
     
  5. MrGreen13

    MrGreen13 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    43
    0
    15
    PRODUCTION DIRECTOR - WLVQ/WHOK/WNKK
    Columbus, OH
    I did this and it allowed me to attach and send but it wont allow her to download it??
     
  6. Caddyman

    Caddyman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    3,216
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    3,216
    638
    233
    Mechanical Piping Designer
    Delaware
    is she using the stock "messages" app for the eris? or handcent as well?

    make sure she has a 3g connection on her phone, just wifi will not work.
     
    MrGreen13 likes this.
  7. MrGreen13

    MrGreen13 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    43
    0
    15
    PRODUCTION DIRECTOR - WLVQ/WHOK/WNKK
    Columbus, OH
    that's probably it...at home we use the wifi connection. I will try and let you know.
     
  8. Caddyman

    Caddyman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    3,216
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    3,216
    638
    233
    Mechanical Piping Designer
    Delaware
    yup, that is probably it....let us know :)
     
  9. MrGreen13

    MrGreen13 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    43
    0
    15
    PRODUCTION DIRECTOR - WLVQ/WHOK/WNKK
    Columbus, OH
    Thanks Caddyman! that worked! I appreciate your help....again.
     
  10. Solitary

    Solitary Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    329
    0
    35
    Clearwater, FL
    so only low resolution works?
     
  11. Solitary

    Solitary Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    329
    0
    35
    Clearwater, FL
  12. mj_b90

    mj_b90 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    105
    20
    58
    Yes, that appears to be the case
     
  13. Solitary

    Solitary Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    329
    0
    35
    Clearwater, FL
    is that just a guess or something you tried?:)
     
  14. mj_b90

    mj_b90 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    105
    20
    58
    Well he was having the file size error on medium res, switching to low allowed him to send. Although I haven't tried it myself, I'll take Mr. Green and Caddyman's word on it.
     
  15. moxiemoney

    moxiemoney Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Male
    Oregon
    Yeah, handcent isn't very good for sending video messages. I have the HTC Hero, pretty much the same as the Eris, and for sending video in high resolution, I use the default messaging application. I take my video, go view the video and click the icon for sharing, and select 'messaging' application and it works perfectly.

    Plus, with handcent, if someone texts you and the handcent popup comes up to reply, I have not found a way to add smileys or attachments. So, the lack of good video attachment support and lack of options on the popup are the only 2 downfalls I see right now. Other than that, it's a much better app than the default app.
     
  16. gimpydingo

    gimpydingo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    22
    0
    15
    Go to settings and change the maximum message size, sadly it is only 1 meg.
     
  17. moxiemoney

    moxiemoney Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Male
    Oregon
    Ah, great tip. 1 mb is enough to send short video clips around, so that works. Thanks!
     
  18. gimpydingo

    gimpydingo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    22
    0
    15
    Glad to help. On my env I would make my own ringtones and send them to people, max size was some random number like 443 kb.
     
  19. Norouzi

    Norouzi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010

    Feb 1, 2010
    4
    1
    6
    Actually just went through this with my wife's Eris. It looks like if you want to send a vid at Med quality you're gonna be limited to about 10 sec (that should produce a video that is right around 1mb). At Small quality I was able to do a 20 sec vid that was less than half a megabyte.
    I haven't had a problem sending these videos using Handcent but I haven't tried sending to anyone not using an Eris or off Verizon yet.
     
  20. idonthaveaclue

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010

    Feb 20, 2010
    65
    0
    35
    I have the Eris and I can only send about a 4 second clip to my wifes phone (voyager) That was with default messaging app. Havent tried with handcent yet.

    Question about recieving smiley faces.. I cant recieve smiley faces, a message comes up saying "Preceeding msg modified, Media objects were removed"

    Is this normal?
     
  21. idonthaveaclue

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010

    Feb 20, 2010
    65
    0
    35
    Just tried to send video using handcent, couldnt do it. I recorded about 20 seconds and then hit the share icon, and the only options that came up was Gmail, Mail, Messages, Yuotube.
    If I go to albums and find the video I just recorded and the hit share handcent will come up but when I click on handcent it goes to JUST pics NO videos.
    HELP, Please.
     
  22. MrGreen13

    MrGreen13 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    43
    0
    15
    PRODUCTION DIRECTOR - WLVQ/WHOK/WNKK
    Columbus, OH
    Recording it in a lower resolution worked for me, but the quality was hit pretty hard. I will try changing the max file size for sending and see it that will help....can you actually set that yourself?
     

Share This Page

Loading...