1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Kies keeps forcing reconnecting the phone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ghost Matter, Jul 29, 2011.

  1. Ghost Matter

    Ghost Matter Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I just got my new Galaxy S2 :D but Kies is giving me lots of trouble :mad:

    I installed the drivers and everything, I start it up fine. Windows recognizes it perfectly (after forcing Kies exes to close) but starting Kies is HELL. It keeps disconnecting and reconnecting the phone in Windows so I keep hearing the "di duh" sound over and over while Kies just shows the device reappearing while saying "Connecting...".

    I reinstalled the drivers from Kies, same thing. Rebooted, same thing. Also formated the local storage and I have no SD card in.

    I'm using Vista x64.
     

    Advertisement

  2. loony

    loony Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    301
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    301
    86
    53
    australia
    ewww vista. that could be your problem right there. kies is a barstard i think all will agree which shows its probably not all you.
    1)tried kies air? i find it work better and its easier to transfer to/from the phone. need a wireless wifi router though.

    2)have you another PC you can try it on? it would help see if its your phone/cable or your PC. go hassle a friend :p

    3)try going to settings/apps/development and try ticking/unticking USB debugging mode.
     
  3. Ghost Matter

    Ghost Matter Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    It works on my XP Netbook right now... But I'd like it to work on my main computer. Anyone got it working with x64 Vista or 7? Should I try installing something from the driver folder? Also, it doesn't want to do Kies Air for some reason.

    I wanted to update the firmware but it says this version of the peripheral may not be updated.

    It works on USB debugging but Kies doesn't like that.

    Should I reset to factory settings? It does work fine on Xp x86...
     
  4. Ghost Matter

    Ghost Matter Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I made it work with Kies Air and it allowed me to find the folder where to put my music(yay!) but I'd still like to use Kies.

    Now the problem is that when I try to transfer through USB, it stops working randomly... It's transferring them suddenly it loses the USB connection and I have to tell the phone to reconnect the drive.
     
  5. mpsya

    mpsya Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011

    Jul 27, 2011
    24
    1
    16

    I share your pain. I've just got the phone too and I love most of it but Keis is total crap. For all the fanfare about the phone being brilliant for playing different types of media it seems strange that it's incredibly difficult to actually get any on there!
    Seems like the S2 is a great phone let down by poor supporting software.

    I had some success with Keis Air but there's a limit on the file size you can transfer (can't remember what it is off the top of my head) so I struggled transfering videos that way.

    What I have found to be the most reliable way so far (still looking for alternatives) is to connect the phone to my PC with the USB cable then when Autoplay pops up click on 'open folder to view files', then drag and drop the files from my PC into the apropriate folder on the phone i.e music files into the music folder.
    It's not perfect as it takes ages and tracks seem to get lost or not show up but it's the best method I've found so far. Think this might be something to do with having folders within folders and the phone not being able to read tracks that are labelled with ID3 tags. Not sure.

    If you're used to using iTunes you might want to try iSyncr from the Market but I've not used it yet.

    Hope someone can come up with a solution soon.
     
  6. loony

    loony Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    301
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    301
    86
    53
    australia
    mine works ok on win7...but since i updated to KF4, kies air doesnt like connecting. if i restart the phone, its fine and connects well.
     
  7. mpsya

    mpsya Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011

    Jul 27, 2011
    24
    1
    16
    I read tons of reviews about the phone and not one mentioned this problem. How anyone testing out the phone could miss the fact that it's a massive ball ache to get media onto it is beyond me.:thinking:
     
  8. Ghost Matter

    Ghost Matter Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I tried to restart it while plugged in, same.

    I'd like Kies to work so it could adapt videos to the phone format.
     

Share This Page

Loading...