1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Lightflow help, please!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by crazy3gz, Jan 15, 2012.

  1. crazy3gz

    crazy3gz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #649
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011

    Nov 14, 2011
    36
    9
    16
    Ok, so I've searched and searched the forums and have been messing with my phone for days. If this has been posted I apologize, please just point me in the right direction and delete this post. ;)

    I'm using Lightflow to control all my notifications. I'm using Go SMS Pro for my SMS ap. I have notifications set up in go sms for icons but let lightflow handle the sounds and vibration. I have a couple contact specific notifications set up in lightflow. When I get a message from one of them I get their specific tone but then I also get my generic sms tone that I'd get from everyone else. How do I make it so I only get their specific tone?

    Again, any help is greatly appreciated. This is driving me crazy.

    If it matters, I am unlocked and rooted but stock rom. Still using Lightflow Light and I did allow superuser rights to lightflow.
     

    Advertisement

  2. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    I don't know exactly because I don't have custom ringtones set up, but I did have an issue where Lightflow was set up to blink a certain color for Google Voice notifications, but not buzz or beep or anything. Well, it was triggering the LED notification fine, but I was also getting the buzz. Turns out, I had to uncheck the vibration notification inside GV.

    So... check your SMS app(s). Disable whatever sounds they are using and just set up the sounds in Lightflow.
     
  3. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Speaking of Lightflow (big fan here as I used it on my Droid X a lot). I heard there were some issues that LF was causing with the Gnex?

    True or false?

    Just wanted to know since I'd like to install it on my phone, as the stock whitsh color that is on the Gnex well, just not feeling it lol.

    Thanks!

    To the OP, sorry hope you dont mind I chimed in. Not trying to hijack your thread.

    Cheers.
     
  4. Crashumbc

    Crashumbc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,810
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    1,810
    550
    223
    IT god
    B'more
    I'm using LF and haven't seen any issues.

    I think there were some when the GN first came out but I think the dev fixed them.
     
  5. crazy3gz

    crazy3gz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #649
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011

    Nov 14, 2011
    36
    9
    16
    Well, everything seems set up properly and still receiving weird notifications with contact specific notifications.

    Otherwise, the app is great! I recommend it for sure.
     
  6. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Dude email the dev! He is an awesome guy! I worked with him last year extensively on a problem with the Droid X and he was sending me custom builds! Stand up guy! Do not hesitate to contact him.

    Ok, sounds good! Will install LF. Any excessive battery drain with this app?

    Cheers!
     
  7. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Ok I am on the AOKP ROM with the newest lean kernel 1.6.6.

    Installed Lightflow. It works, but, the LED is not flashing it just stays on a constant LED light.

    Is there a setting that has changed that I missed? Or maybe something in this ROM that needs to be changed.

    Thanks guys!
     
  8. Crashumbc

    Crashumbc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,810
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    1,810
    550
    223
    IT god
    B'more
    afaik the default for LF is to have the LED be constant. you can change it in the app settings...
     
  9. dhworph

    dhworph Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    566
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011

    Dec 21, 2011
    566
    63
    78
    I'm on GNex and get lightflow issues. It works for the most part, but sometimes notifications won't clear. I have to st everything to manual clear and clear it from the notification bar ... i.e. clear the notification from lightflow that I have a notification --- so I always get two notifications in the upper notification bar, one form lightflow and one from the app that generates the notification.

    And going back from the LF notification menu, can't go back in without restarting the app...
     
  10. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Don't recall that happening in the past. Also dont see a setting for it. Can you hook a brother up? :p
     
  11. Crashumbc

    Crashumbc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,810
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    1,810
    550
    223
    IT god
    B'more

    if you go into the app, select "notifications" one of the options for each is "LED flash rate" all mine show "always on"
     
  12. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    You've got something screwy somewhere. The LED flash rate does not default to always on.
     
  13. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Thanks man. I dont recall ever have to change that in the past on my DX. Will give it a look see.

    Cheers!
     
  14. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Just checked man and guess what, mine is. :thinking:
     
  15. Crashumbc

    Crashumbc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,810
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    1,810
    550
    223
    IT god
    B'more

    I just downloaded it Saturday and I using the "free" version if that makes a difference.

    I'm also running the "Gummy" ROM but I don't "think" that should have a any affect on LF though.

    I didn't change anything with the default set-up expect to turn it on.
     
  16. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    I have the paid version and mine is set to always on. Strange. Will email the dev in a bit.

    Thanks.
     
  17. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    Funny. Definitely post back what the dev says - I've installed that app on six phones of four different models and three different manufacturers (and any number of different ROMs) and it hasn't defaulted to "always on."

    That wouldn't be logical behavior anyway - nobody wants it always on, so why would you default to something you'd change 100% of the time :thinking:
     
    Trooper likes this.
  18. quiklives

    quiklives Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    421
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    421
    195
    68
    I think a lot of those issues were coming from people who checked the box in the settings for s6e...whatever, that actually caused Lightflow to take over the main screen.

    This happened to me and I couldn't figure it out. In the end, I uninstalled and reinstalled LightFlow and haven't had any more trouble since. Maybe not a great solution, but it worked for me.
     
  19. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Im with you man same here. Maybe its just something with the AOKP rom and Lightflow?

    EDIT: I've emailed the dev and also pointed him to this thread. :)
     
  20. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Hi guys. Well here is the deal straight from Andrew (the developer of Lightflow). I asked him if I could post his response here on the AF and he was ok with it.

    Cheers!

     
  21. DucatiDude

    DucatiDude Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    215
    44
    43
    I should email Andrew. I have a phantom notification sound. Every email gets two sounds; the one I chose in Gmail and the LightFlow one. Only problem is LF is set on NO notifications. This is my second install. First time the phantom sound was with Handsent. Now it's with Mail.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...