1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Lockscreen is stuck, glad I have removable battery!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Palmetto Fellow, Jan 21, 2013.

  1. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,022
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    2,022
    323
    183
    SC
    I've had my EVO V for about 2 weeks now. It's currently bone stock with the latest OTA update. I shrugged this off the first time it happened, but it's happened again, so I am starting to get a bit concerned.

    My lockscreen wouldn't unlock. I tried sliding the ring, but it would only go up a half inch then bounce back down to the lock position. I tried it several times with the same results. Luckily, I must have unlocked it within the past 5 minutes as I was able to pull the status bar down and select my browser, and upon exiting the browser, I was unlocked back on my homescreen. The first time it happened, the password protection was enabled, so I ended up calling myself and after hanging up, I was able to put in the password, bypassing the lockscreen.

    I decided to turn the phone off, and it got stuck in shutting down. I got as far as the pure black screen, but it just sat there, with a backlit black screen waiting to shut down, and never did. I had to remove the battery. I don't recall this happening when I rebooted the phone the first time I had the lockscreen issue.

    Any ideas how to investigate this? Please don't say "root the phone and install a custom ROM". I like the 3D aspect of this phone.
     

    Advertisement

  2. mrawesome22

    mrawesome22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    354
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012

    Aug 5, 2012
    354
    63
    53
    Rooting the phone will not affect it's 3d capability.
     
    Palmetto Fellow likes this.
  3. kevindroid

    kevindroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    935
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    935
    232
    113
    Male
    electrician
    baltimore
    trying a third party lockscreen with stock disabled could solve the problem
     
    Palmetto Fellow likes this.
  4. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,022
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    2,022
    323
    183
    SC
    I was referring more to the "install a custom ROM" portion :p
     
  5. davidmargolin

    davidmargolin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    957
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012

    Mar 6, 2012
    957
    229
    93
    Male
    Brooklyn, NY
    there are tons of custom roms that have 3d working...
    mobster rom
    midnight (not the jellybean version)
    mean rom
    sos m
    and lots of others...
     
    Palmetto Fellow likes this.
  6. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,022
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    2,022
    323
    183
    SC
    Wait a minute, what's all this I've been reading about the 3D being proprietary yadda yadda...HTC won't release the source code...blah blah.

    Are there any JB ROMs with 4G and 3D working?
     
  7. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    4G yes, 3d no.
     
    Palmetto Fellow likes this.
  8. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,022
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    2,022
    323
    183
    SC
    OK, let's forget about Jellybean for a moment...

    I had basically written off flashing ROMs because I was under the impression that nobody had any that supported 3D; I wanted to keep 3D working. I am now slowly starting to discover that 3D works and so does 4G on some ICS ROMs...is that correct?:D

    Did I just read everyone wrong when they said things like HTC keeping their 3D stuff under wraps? Does Unlocked Potential support both 4G and 3D? And by 3D, I mean 3D camera and 3D display? If so, I think I've found my first ROM.
     
  9. davidmargolin

    davidmargolin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    957
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012

    Mar 6, 2012
    957
    229
    93
    Male
    Brooklyn, NY
    yes... and its because it is based on stock... and dont get me wrong... mobster did a great job customizing and it looks nothing like stock... but its internals are related to what htc gave us... therefore, no reverse engineering is needed to get 3d working... roms not based on the stock, dont have the same internals and therefore need some long and painfull work to get 3d up and running because htc wont release source code...
     
    Palmetto Fellow likes this.
  10. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,022
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    2,022
    323
    183
    SC
    Damn, had I realized this a week ago, I'd already be rooted with a new ROM. Time for me to take rooting more seriously. I got some research to do :D
     
  11. Hollaback12786

    Hollaback12786 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    198
    19
    38
    Connecticut
    You've never checked out any of the ROM threads? That was the first thing I did when I got this phone lol rooting and s-off are easy, don't let the directions intimidate you and if you have any questions there's plenty of us who can help
     
  12. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,022
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    2,022
    323
    183
    SC
    Looks like I picked a helluva night to unlock my bootloader. The HTCdev site isn't working properly. I've spent over an hour and a half waiting for pages to load, only to have them fail, and then retry, and fail...over and over.

    I somehow (in that 90 minutes) was able to get all the way to the screen where you enter the identifier token...only to get a 173 error, which I've googled...and there's some talk over on XDA about how everybody is getting the same error. HTC seems to be aware of this issue, but I expect it to continue through tomorrow.

    The irony is that the registration process is flawless. I got registered and email sent within like 5 seconds.

    Perhaps someday I'll get my bootloader unlocked :(
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...