1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Many apps stopped working

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chuckc, Aug 18, 2011.

  1. chuckc

    chuckc Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Sometime today while I was at work something changed and a whole bunch of my apps stopped working, including yahoo messenger and the Amazon app store. I think my kid did something but don't know what. A bunch of them got their icons switched to the green android generic icon. How can I get this stuff fixed without doing a wipe and starting over?
     

    Advertisement

  2. SolidOrange

    SolidOrange Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    1,640
    1,599
    313
    Clemson, SC
    Sounds like you have those apps and/or data stored on your external SD and it has been unmounted. Go into settings -> storage and checking the status. If it says it is unmounted, try removing and reinserting it. If it says it is mounted, try unmounting then remove and reinsert. I am not 100% sure this will solve your problem, but it has happened on my thunderbolt before with the same symptoms you are describing.
     
  3. chuckc

    chuckc Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Thanks for the tip. I don't think it was using the external card for anything. It says no storage is used. I tried pulling it out and putting it back in and there's no difference. Uninstalling and reinstalling some apps worked. But it's still not 100%. Half the time I got into the Applications->downloaded applications settings it bombs out saying the process com.android.settings stopped unexpectedly. That doesn't sound like an external storage problem to me.
     
  4. SolidOrange

    SolidOrange Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    1,640
    1,599
    313
    Clemson, SC
  5. davidmillerlv

    davidmillerlv Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I just bought a viewsonic gtablet 2.2 Android and when I power it on all I get is the word android, which goes away and then keeps reappearing and going away. I reset it to factory default and it still does the same thing. I feel like an idiot and totally helpless so I am turning to you guys/ladies for help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...