1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Accessories Monoprice car charger

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by KimchiBoi, May 14, 2010.

  1. KimchiBoi

    KimchiBoi Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    41
    0
    15
    Hi all, I ordered the monoprice car charger along with the micro usb cable. It was working fine before, but now when I tried to charge it in my car today, I get an error message saying that I should disconnect it right away before I damage the phone because the charger is not compatible with the device. Anyone else see this message and know if it is okay to keep using it or not? This only started happening today and my other micro usb cables work fine when I charge it through the computer.
     

    Advertisement

  2. fortesquieu

    fortesquieu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,079
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    1,079
    144
    143
    wow scary
     
  3. belash

    belash Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    41
    4
    16
    Milton, FL
    No issues with mine yet.
     
  4. MikiBee

    MikiBee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    129
    11
    38
    Mom extraordinaire
    Cedar Park, TX
    No issues with mine. I got my charger yesterday from monoprice. I ordered one, they sent me 3. Had to double check I didn't get charged for 3. But no problems with it charging yet. I will keep a look out though. Thanks for the head's up.
     
  5. KimchiBoi

    KimchiBoi Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    41
    0
    15
    Now my phone just died...Won't turn back on. Hopefully its just a battery problem and an exchange will fix?
     
  6. bgrutter

    bgrutter Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    412
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    412
    47
    43
    I got the same error while using a car charger I bought for my wife's bb tour. I bought this one from VZW. Never even thought to buy that from monoprice (banging head now).

    Anyway, I unplugged it and plugged it back in. Voila, it worked fine with no error message.

    So, I guess that means I just kept on keeping on. You'll have to make your own call.
     
  7. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Glad it worked out for you.

    I bought this one the other day. Micro-USB 3-in-1 Charging Power Pack

    No problems so far. The only problem I had was that it was difficult to get out of the input in my car. But I think that was due to the layout in my TL.
     
  8. accohn12

    accohn12 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    64
    7
    16
    I've had mine for about 3 days now and no problems.
     
  9. drdoom

    drdoom Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    959
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    959
    183
    93
    College Student
    North Carolina
    No problems with mine either. Been using it for two weeks.
     
  10. jiho0101

    jiho0101 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Hi. I bought a car charger from monoprice today.

    The sticker on the charger shows "MAX: 500mA". I ordered it because others said that monoprice one is 1A (1000mA) .

    what about yours? Does it have "1A" sticker on it?
     
  11. jiho0101

    jiho0101 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Hi. I bought a car charger from monoprice today.

    The sticker on the charger shows "MAX: 500mA". I ordered it because others said that monoprice one is 1A (1000mA) .

    what about yours? Does it have "1A" sticker on it?
     
  12. drdoom

    drdoom Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    959
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    959
    183
    93
    College Student
    North Carolina
    Mine have 1A on them.
     
  13. mjbiren

    mjbiren Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    I also received a 500ma charger. I ordered this one because I saw in the photo it was 1a. But if u look at the specification tab u see the photo does not match.

    I now have the 1a one from them and a cable. I get that warning shortly after plugging it in. I only tried twice.

    I saw in another thread that one persons inc apparently did stop working......

    I do want to try with the HTC cable and see if that works.
     
  14. elgaez

    elgaez Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    11
    0
    15
  15. dan h

    dan h Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    97
    38
    23
    Anaheim, CA
    I got the monoprice charger as well. It worked fine with no problems for about a month. One day when I plugged it in, I noticed that my phone wasn't charging and then I looked at the charger and noticed the red light wasn't on. So I thought no big deal, it must be the fuse and I'll just replace the fuse inside. When I opened it up, there was no fuse. It's a straight soldered connection. I'm no expert in electrical stuff but doesn't this mean that should there be an electrical glitch/overage/problem with the car, the phone being charged will not be protected by the charger lacking the fuse? I soldered it back and used it for a few more days until my brother gave me his fused charger he wasn't using anymore.

    On a side note, I also noticed that the micro usb connector is not a perfect fit with the phone. Apparently it doesn't have a small groove on the top and ended up bending the top of the usb connector on the charger.

    But at the end of the day. This was like a $1. Got what I paid for but not worth it when you are using it with a $500 phone and the damages can be significantly higher.
     
  16. rukkus

    rukkus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    27
    0
    35
    we use monoprice car chargers on our nexus 1 and dinc with no issues whatsoever.
     
  17. jwinstonc

    jwinstonc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    58
    3
    16
    I have the same setup from monoprice. Mine charges but VERY slowly. I mean it'll charge less than 10% in an hour. I have another USB outlet adapter I may try to see if that helps at all.
     
  18. Jedi54

    Jedi54 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    170
    33
    43
  19. ORRY?

    ORRY? Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    112
    13
    38
    NNJ
    Now, that's unsettling. I just ordered a couple myself along with a couple micro usb cords. I was hoping this pair would be a viable replacement for the Motorola one I got from Amazon being that it is rated at 1A.

    Will follow up when I receive mine.
     
  20. ORRY?

    ORRY? Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    112
    13
    38
    NNJ
    Just went on a short car ride with the monoprice charger, and I'm disappointed. Just a 10 minute ride with navigation on only just to follow where I went, not navigating to any specific place. Went down from 68% to 65% during the 10 minute car ride.

    :Le sigh:





    Edit:
    Another update on the monoprice charger:

    Did another test run, but this time, set my screen brightness to low and turned off auto-sync on an hour-long drive through traffic from NJ to NY to get to an interview. From 46%, it charged up to 48%. Within that hour.

    So, the monoprice charger DOES charge the phone, but with the lowest screen brightness and auto-sync off. I had some trouble seeing the screen though, when the skies eased up a bit on the downpour and some sun shone through.

    Still disappointed in the Froyo-cap. Would rather not have to disable other functions in order to charge properly.
     

Share This Page

Loading...