1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root more adb questions

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by scotty85, Apr 3, 2011.

  1. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    so i used this video to help me get sdk installed. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y6K1XLmafPc

    everything works fine,but following the advice given at the end,i moved everything in "platform tools" to the "tools" directly.

    its fine,it works,but there is just a crap ton of stuff in there and its a little confusing if i want to go in and delete the files i added for a particular project(for example,there were several files i needed for the TB root that i dint want to hang out in there afterward).

    wondering if i could move a bunch of things that ill prolly never use back into platform tools to clean it up some? if so what do i need to keep in the tools directory?

    any other tips or coments or personal preferences are more than welcome :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,298
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,298
    23,695
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    It only annoys me that they separated the ddms.bat utility from adb.exe...

    I type pretty fast so its not too much of a big deal to pop-up and down a directory when I need one or the other (and I'm too lazy to change the system PATH setting :D).

    Cheers!
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  3. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,644
    759
    223
    Just put both tools/ and platform_tools/ in your PATH, and then there will be no need to pollute either directory with flashables - then just run those commands from whatever folder you want.
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  4. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    thanks eu1. so i could i make a folder and call it "flashables"(or something to that affect) and drop whatever files i need to into that?

    when i start up,i simply change directories to that folder by:
    cd c:\android-sdk-windows\flashables instead of cd c:\android-sdk-windows\tools ?
     
  5. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,644
    759
    223
    Sure.

    Doesn't even need to be in a common sub-folder; so for instance,

    C:\mystuff\phones\Eris\flashables

    That's the whole point of using PATH - so that programs you frequently use can be invoked from any directory using the short name (rather than typing out the full pathname) of the executable program.

    eu1
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  6. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    oooh! thats awsome :D that makes it a bunch easier. i need some new adb projects,now,lol.

    as always thanks for everyones assistance :cool:
     

Share This Page

Loading...