1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Moto Droid FRG22: CM6 or New Ultimate Droid 8.0?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by AMTrombley0924, Sep 29, 2010.

  1. AMTrombley0924

    AMTrombley0924 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    478
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    478
    57
    53
    Student, Air Force Cadet
    California
    I have CM6, but I hear the new UD 8.0 is quick and snappy. This is something I want, but don't have on CM6. Should I switch over to US 8.0?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jcarmicha

    Jcarmicha Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    118
    6
    36
    I switched from CM6 to UD 8.0 and it was a fantastic change in my opinion. I dropped calls constantly with CM6. UD seems to have some extra little addons too that I enjoy.
     
  3. publicanimal

    publicanimal Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    545
    88
    98
    Santa Cruz, CA
    UD9 is coming out soon as well, you might just hold off until that comes out.

    It was supposed to be out almost a week ago though so don't hold your breath.
     
  4. AMTrombley0924

    AMTrombley0924 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    478
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    478
    57
    53
    Student, Air Force Cadet
    California
    I switched, but how do you customize the notification bar? They said it had like waay more customization options but I can't find them.
     
  5. aaron19953

    aaron19953 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    162
    11
    38
    Dover, DE
    bb .5 .. hehe, couldn't help myself
     
  6. nathan312

    nathan312 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    395
    25
    63
    Student
    Georgia
    Go to your homescreen and press menu>settings>Ultimate Droid settings (it's at the VERY top, you can't miss it.)
     
    AMTrombley0924 likes this.
  7. AMTrombley0924

    AMTrombley0924 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    478
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    478
    57
    53
    Student, Air Force Cadet
    California
    Got it. My phone won't connect to the VZW 3G network anymore. Any ideas on how to fix this?
     
  8. xmr405o

    xmr405o Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,171
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    4,171
    1,185
    333
    Not sure if you tried it, but turn on Airplane mode then turn it off. That sometimes works in restoring 3g.
     
  9. Bramsy

    Bramsy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,516
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010

    Jan 1, 2010
    1,516
    149
    163
    Awsome-o
    Birmingham, MI
    BB. 05 for me too. I like the idea of ROMS but annoyed to switch so often.

    I have had 0 screen redraws and it is as snappy as ever!
     
  10. gallandof

    gallandof Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010


    have ypu tried dialing *228 then choosing option 1?
     
  11. Picaso86

    Picaso86 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    83
    3
    36
    New Jersey
    Every Droid is different. mine likes UD8! :)

    if you like customization, you will like this ROM.
     
    AMTrombley0924 likes this.
  12. AMTrombley0924

    AMTrombley0924 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    478
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    478
    57
    53
    Student, Air Force Cadet
    California
    3G problem fixed. Just reflashed the ROM. What is a good Low Voltage Kernel I can run on UD 8? I ran Chevy LV 1.0 on the CM6 ROM I had.
     
  13. omegasport20

    omegasport20 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010

    Aug 18, 2010
    13
    1
    36
    I'm running the Chevy 1.0lv kernal. It has been working really well.
     
    AMTrombley0924 likes this.
  14. AMTrombley0924

    AMTrombley0924 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    478
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    478
    57
    53
    Student, Air Force Cadet
    California
    Installed Chevy 1.0 LV, and it works great! thanks for the help, guys!
     

Share This Page

Loading...