• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Apps Need a push in the right direction :) storing pictures within an app?

Hello,

Im trying to develop my first app and I want to create a simple one that uses a group of pictures that I have and allows the user to browse through them using buttons. Getting the buttons on the screen wasnt to hard but thats about it for my knowledge so far as I am just a rookie using the android sdk. Im thinking that I can store the pics in the resource file and make some kind of call to draw them to screen when the user pushes the button.

So what I need to know if possible is......

How to I store pictures inside an app.....is that even possible? I would imagine it has to be since there are sound board apps and those sounds had to be stored in the app.....Im guessing.

How do I draw those pictures to the screen.

And finally how can I use a button to browse through the pictures.

Ok so Ive figured out how to put the image files into the app.....that was easy enough. Now Im still stuck on how to call them to screen by the use of buttons.

Should I store all the image files to be used in the app into some kind of array and then the buttons to go back and forth.......does any one know how I would go about doing that.

Upvote 0
Ok.....i suppose that most people messing with android are either like myself and have almost no experience or are so advanced that they find my thread to elementary to comment on.....

Anyway,

So now I have the picture drawn to the screen but I dont know how to make the buttons switch the pictures back and forth

I know I need to make an array, assign each picture a value in the array, and then set up some kind of loop or something that tells the app that if a button is pressed go to the next pic and draw it to the screen.....or......go back to the previous one and draw it to the screen.

Upvote 0