• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

New Android user experience, or (Help me make the jump from Android?)

I have had my HTC Sensation XE for about six weeks now and it pretty much updated to ICS out of the box, so I have no prior experience of older Android versions.

I felt prompted to write this as I'm probably typical of someone who has essentially used Nokia phones almost exclusively before moving into the Android arena and its touch screen mode of operation. This has certainly been a learning curve for me and not without much frustration and to a certain extent regret for having gone down this route.

Now don't get me wrong, I'm not writing off Android as something which should only be attempted to be used by enthusiasts and techno geeks, but these devices are actually quite powerful portable computers and this comes with all the potential for technical and operational glitches just like any other computer, and in the first six weeks I have certainly had quite a few minor gremlins which were not insurmountable but just rather annoying and disappointing.

My son recently asked me what I thought of the new HTC One V and I said it looks like a great up to date slightly cheaper smartphone, but I told him not to go near it, purely for the reason that the battery was not removable. My main reason for advising this was the fact that this has been the only means I have had to correct any problems with my Sensation which more often than not has refused to ultimately respond to anything other than this "last resort" measure. The Android version of control-alt-del. How do people manage without a removable battery, let alone the advantages it has in addressing the vast power reserve many of these devices need, but more to the point, why should I have to jump through these crude hoops just to keep my phone operating smoothly.